Posted by: Kate | December 2, 2008

A Quick and Goofy Knitting Pattern

I made one of these for my dad last Christmas, and after posting a photo and brief description of the process on Ravelry, forgot all about it.  Then, today, I had a request for a more detailed pattern, and since it took me all of 5 minutes to type out, I thought I may as well copy it here for posterity, since I have more than enough posterity to go around…

It was envisioned as a convertible neckwarmer/cowl/hat kind of thing, could even be worn as a hood in moments of desperation and fashion-ignorance.  A gadgety sort of a gift for a gadgety sort of a guy, and I considered myself all sorts of tricky when I came up with it… only to learn that there already was such a garment as a balaclava, which is similar enough to steal all of my thunder.  Ah, well.

I called it a Moog, because at the time I made it, I was watching a Bill-Kurtis-narrated show about a murder plot, and one of the convicted gentlemen chose this as his nickname.  It just smacks of such high-class style, doesn’t it?

Anyway, without further ado:

2007-12-23-moog3

MOOG
Materials:
Yarn: Bernat Cashmere Natural Blends, 2 balls – held double
Needles: Circular needle, US size 10 (6.0 mm) – 16″ for in-the-round knitting, 24″+ for Magic Loop
Darning needle
Toggled drawstring, as found on laundry bags or enclosures to some sleeping bags. People who think farther ahead than I do might be able to find one in a craft store instead of needing to cannibalize articles already in the home after midnight.

Notes:
All (pm)’s are in ()’s because they’re completely optional; I didn’t use them, because it was fairly obvious after about 4 rounds where the cables were, but they couldn’t hurt.

C8F: slip next 4 sts onto cable needle and hold in front, k4, k4 from cable needle.

Directions:
CO 76 sts, join (pm).  Hold yarn double throughout.
Work in k2p2 ribbing for 2”.
Setup rnd: * k2, p2, (pm) k8 (pm), p2, k24, rep from * once.
Rnds 1-3: * k2, p2, k8, p2, k24, rep from * once.
Rnd 4: * k2, p2, C8F, p2, k24, rep from * once.

Repeat Rounds 1-4 for desired height (8-12” depending on how thick you want the cowl or how tall you want the hat). End on Round 3.

Return to k2p2 ribbing for 2 1/2”, BO loosely. Fold top 1/2” edge over toggled drawstring and sew in place. Weave in ends.

2007-12-23-moog2

2007-12-23-moog1


Responses

  1. I’ve got one of them, a black version. I just call it my cold weather hat, but Moog is much snappier. It’s now my up-to-the-minute Moog.

  2. Well, without the bank robber function, I have seen something like yours called a “howl” (hat/cowl). To call it a balaclava, it would have to be able to be worn covering the lower face and the top of the head simultaneously.

    Since I have no immediate (or long term) plans to rob any banks your Moog would suit me just fine!

  3. Elizabeth is right, a balaclava covers the whole head. Unfortunately we’ve seen plenty of them here in Northern Ireland, they were the regular attire of paramilitaries.

  4. Yours is way better than a balaclava. Look at that cable! And I love the toggle.

  5. ON RAvelry you say to hold yarn doubled but you don’t mention it here. Hmmm…I guess I’ll swatch and see!:)

  6. This is a great winter item.
    I can see myself knitting lots of them for adults and for little ones.
    Thanks for sharing your pattern.
    chloe

  7. Great little hat/cowl/Moog thingy!

    I died laughing cause the murder in question happened in my Hubby’s home town. One of his Uncles is featured in the interviews.

    • Wow, that is funny. It’s always a lovely thing when people can look at a piece of knitwear and associate it with random acts of violence… 😉

      Enjoy!

  8. I absolutely love this pattern. I knitted one up and it turned out perfectly. I used a pretty bulky yarn so I had to cast on less stitches, but that’s whats so great about your cute moog, is it is scalable for any size. Thanks.


Leave a comment

Categories