Posted by: Kate | December 15, 2007

An Unreasonable Number of Hats

I think I’m done with the hat portion of my Christmas knitting. A sweater for each kid, maybe a scarf or two, but the hats are done. And a good thing, too, because I have a limited amount of space in my living room and they were starting to take over…

There were several more car hats… each a bit different but based on the same pattern.

Some cute little flowery/butterfly hats, sort of the girly version of the car hats. (No pattern for these, just a further extension of the car hat idea but with more Fair Isle in the “field” section at the bottom – one row of just green, next row of green and pink/purple alternating, and so on.)

A mother-and-daughter ski hat set. (Again, no pattern… just seeing what the yarn wanted to be. This is Paton’s SWS, it’s a wool/soy blend. Very soft. Feel your monitor – see what I mean?)

Two Fake Isle hats, one stopping early on the pattern because it seemed too big, the other on smaller needles (and standing up, so the photo looks a little skewed… such is life). Both with Noro Kureyon and a bit of the leftover black from the cursed sweater. (So, if you’re on the receiving end of one of these suckers, please hand-wash!)

And a smattering of warm-but-washable wintery hats to be disseminated about the country. No patterns, just casting on about six inches’ worth, knitting for somewhere between 6-10 inches, and decreasing every other row or so until it’s small enough to run thread through and pull tight.

So, yeah, that’s a lot of hats. But they’re a cute and satisfying sort of project, and made with love, ’tis the season, blah blah blah. I’m trying to focus my efforts instead of covering every head I know, and am reminding myself that there’s always next year, for those upon whom I can’t inflict a hat just now.


Responses

  1. I’m jealous beyond belief. I have one hat pattern I can muster, but no pattern? I’d be a goner.

  2. Those road hats are pretty much brilliant. “Look, mom! It’s a car! And it’s driving around my head!” Freakin’ awesome, I tell you.

  3. Thanks, both!

    Jacob wears his and spins in circles until he falls down. “They’re racing!”

    They make me happy.

  4. Adore the hats!

  5. So prolific! Love them all!

  6. Your hats are beautiful. I absolutely LOVE the flowery/butterfly one’s.

  7. I think those hats are amazing. I can’t knit – so to me it is very inspiring that you can do it. Awesome.

  8. You are a mad hatter!

  9. I’m lovin’ them. If only I could knit..I managed crocheting (sp?) once…and I could never figure out how to loop it together. Maybe one day…maybe.

  10. I love them all!! You’re so talented!

  11. […] The results aren’t always pretty, but sometimes they’re fun. Case in point, my recent hat binge, many of which were made without a pre-determined pattern. Some came out badly, and were frogged […]

  12. BEAUTIFUL…I love them all.

  13. So many hats so little time! 😉 They are wonderful! I am so jealous of your knitting ability, I stared in wonder at the yarn today at the fabric store, and then reminded myself that you live to far away to teach me…

  14. Well, I can now say with first hand knowledge that your ability to just throw some yarn on needles and see what happens is astounding. We received some very lovely hats today, they are gorgeous, and they all fit wonderfully. You are a knitting zen master.


Leave a comment

Categories