Posted by: Kate | August 28, 2010

Miracle Cure

I went to the dentist today.

I walked into the waiting room on my own, checked in, sat down and paged through a Women’s Day from March 2007.  I stepped out to make a phone call, returned, flipped through most of a Sports Illustrated about the Summer Olympics.  The last ones.  By the time they called my name – only 10 minutes late, but I had arrived 15 minutes early due to the timing of a prior appointment – I was bored.  Just kind of staring at nothing, avoiding awkward eye contact with the other prisoners in that particular holding cell, waiting.

I was not anxious.  I wasn’t scared, nervous, apprehensive or frightened.  I was not fighting off horrible imagery and chewing on the insides of my cheeks, wishing it was already over.  I had not taken an Ativan, or three.

I was fine, I suppose.  Not actively happy to be there, but “actively happy” is a state I don’t spend much time in, just lately.  I certainly wasn’t actively miserable about my surroundings.

See?  It’s been a miraculous recovery!  I’ve been cured from 20 years of dental phobia so intense that I needed to be put under general anesthesia for anything more invasive than x-rays.

All I had to do was have a near-death event, with 13-or-so surgeries imposed upon my unconscious body while a ventilator breathed for me and a tube ran nutrition up my nose.  Et voila! Perspective around the dentist has been restored.

I should write a self-help book.

Responses

  1. Hahah working in mysterious ways eh? Well at least your teeth will be perfect.

  2. I suppose some good had to come of all this medical bullshit. Now you can enjoy the mild irritation dentistry usually inspires in the majority of people. ❤

  3. Under the heading of “be careful what you ask for” is, “Universe, help me get over my dental phobia.”

    We-ell, being over it is a good thing . . . I guess . . .

  4. There’s a silver lining, I guess!

  5. After your post about Dr. Jerk I have to admit I am not totally surprised, that crap would change your subconscious perception totally.

  6. Small peanuts compared to what you have recently been through. I wish that your new attitude about the dentist would rub off on me and I hope that you continue to do well.

  7. Soooooooo…all it takes is to be gutted like a deer? Wish we’d known that earlier!

    Small victories. We’ll take em! 🙂

  8. Well hey, at least you got something out of the deal! I’m glad to hear good news from you 🙂

  9. wow…that’s seriously amazing.

    weird, but amazing.

    at any rate, good news. 🙂

  10. […] for the ride.  My dental phobia has lightened, a little bit.  To the point where I was able to get through a cleaning at the beginning of September, and I have agreed to try to get the necessary follow-up work done […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

