Posted by: Kate | July 7, 2010

Happily Anticlimactic

I’m home.

I got three days, two nights in the luxury accommodations at Massachusetts General Hospital, courtesy of a… thing.  They still don’t quite know what it was: could’ve been an abscess though I showed no signs of infection; could’ve been a post-surgery seroma though there’s an awfully long time between the surgeries and this, plus there was blood involved, which is atypical for a seroma; could’ve been a pre-cancerous kind of deal, though the walls of the thing were thin and it didn’t show certain other characteristics they would expect to see… you get the idea.

The best they could offer was, “It’s a pocket of fluid, in an area likely to cause significant pain.”  Gee, ya think?

The best they could offer was, “We’re not sure what caused it, so we can’t offer suggestions on how to avoid a repeat.”  Great, thanks.

The best they could offer was, “We’re pretty sure it won’t happen again, but if it does, just do exactly what you did the last time – but skip the CT scan up in Gloucester, we weren’t happy with their report anyway.”  Lovely, I’m feeling reassured.

The best they could offer was careful, repeated testing, multiple consultations between various teams and departments, and careful explanations of what they did – and didn’t – know as the process went on.  In a top-notch medical facility, whilst providing me with adequate pain management.  I feel like that’s a pretty good set of offerings, and I gratefully accepted.

Finally, after much consultation and testing and thought, they decided to use a needle and an ultrasound machine to deflate my little thing.  Didn’t hurt much, thanks to local anesthesia, and I didn’t get too terribly revved up about it all, thanks to a reassuringly competent medical facility and my good friend Ativan.  I cannot effectively express how well that worked, in terms of getting rid of the pain.  Within minutes, I could sit up straight without whimpering, and by the time I got home, I was able to pick things up off the floor without extensive planning and preparation.

All in all, it was deeply anticlimactic.  For which I am deeply grateful.

Responses

  1. We are ALL happy to see an anticlimactic ending to anything that begins with “Kate’s in the hospital” Glad you’re home and ok!

  2. I’m so glad to hear you are home and okay! Phew!

  3. Welcome home! So glad you’re out of pain and worry. Enjoy yourself with your kids!!!!!!!!!! Love ya!

  4. Kate, I am so relieved – I’m sure you could tell we were all pretty worried about you. Here’s to anticlimactic!!

  5. My guess is lymphocele, not a surprise when I’m sure the whole lymphatic system is impacted with so many surgeries. So, so relieved that you are home and it was so easily treated. Betcha that’s what the labs come back, and that’s good news. So glad you were up to posting, I know it’s been a long week. Hugs…to all!

  6. Good, good, good. So happy for you guys and relieved.

  7. Funny, I was telling DH this story as soon as Gretchen gave us the update about avoiding surgery, and he said, “hmmm…pretty anticlimactic.” For once that’s a good thing!

  8. Anti-climactic is good. There was nothing scarier than two weeks after Wiz’s skull/brain surgery than running to the ER for a CT scan to see what was causing the severe headache and vomiting. It was dubbed just a migraine. It was a huge relief.

    I’m glad for you and Willem that yours was anticlimactic too. And fervently hope that it will stay that way.

  9. May that be the last hospital stay for a lo-ong time! The body is still processing that strep invasion, but progress looks upward!

  10. Sometimes, anticlimactic is the very best outcome there could be. So happy to hear that you are home and all is well!

  11. Yay for anticlimactic! And Yay for the procedure working so well to get rid of the pain!

  12. Wow, Kate. It’s really unbelievable what you’ve been through. I’m so glad to know you are doing better and that this wasn’t too serious.

  13. Yay…that’s best case scenario. Right? Glad to hear it wasn’t anything requiring surgery…or worse.

  14. I am so glad to hear you are home so quickly!

  15. Glad to hear it!

  16. Sooo happy to hear these results!!

  17. YAY!!!

  18. Hooray for anticlimactic!

  19. anticlimactic. Just what you need in your life right now. Yay!! so glad in was in and out. Just like and oil change hey? LOL.


Leave a Reply

Categories

