Posted by: Kate | October 18, 2009

Awesome Upon Awesome

I suppose it might help if you were female, and if you were a knitter, but I kind of feel like the past 36 hours has a high enough level of fabulousness that darn near anyone could stretch their brain to imagine it.

I could swamp you with details, but the short version should suffice:

Gretchen and I went to New York for the New York State Sheep and Wool Festival.  We also made an impromptu stop at WEBS… and managed to leave without buying anything.  This is unprecedented.

The kids stayed home with Willem.

We got massages.  Due to a last-minute change in plans, we had hour-long massages instead of 30-minute ones.

We had a big, chatty dinner, with fellow-friend-and-knitter Barb, her mom, my dad and his apparently-soon-to-be-wife.

We stayed in a reasonably decent hotel.

We spent today wandering around the fiber festival, picking up a few tidbits here and there, fondling any number of skeins and hanks of all kinds of origins – I think I saw dog yarn, and I know I saw yak – and I found a perfect Christmas gift for my mom.  Beyond perfect.  Down-to-the-detail perfection.

We drove home safely and uneventfully, despite heavy, wet snow and poor visibility.

The kids – and Willem – were still alive and comparatively intact when I got home.

Good, good stuff.

Responses

  1. Sounds lovely. My mom is heading to the southern version of the sheep and wool festival next weekend. I’m jealous.

  2. Sounds wonderful!

  3. That does sound awesome even from someone who doesn’t knit even a little.

  4. I’m sure you saw yak, because I’m certain I saw it the last time I went. 🙂 Glad you had a good time!

  5. Jealous! Sounds like a lovely time.

  6. You know I’m not dying to find out what you got your mommy! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

