Posted by: Kate | September 21, 2009

Damn You, Adam Sandler

I don’t much like Adam Sandler’s humor.  He’s funny, to me, once in a great while, but for the most part I find his reliance on bodily-function jokes and obnoxious characters to be grating and unpleasant.  He hit his peak when I was in college, which meant that pretty near every time I went to the frat house – oh, sorry, Willem, I mean, the fraternity establishment – one of his CDs was either being played or being parroted by semi-inebriated college boys.

(Operaman, of course, being the exception.  More humor tends to be able to slip through those cracks.)

But not liking his stuff is not the same as being able to erase it from my memory, and all it takes is certain words to bring up an endless earworm of Adam’s Lunch Lady song.  Such as tonight, when I made… sing it with me… sloppy joe, slop, sloppy joe…

Yeah.  I’ll be jabbing a knitting needle through my ear shortly.

Responses

  1. Sorry. Jews everywhere rejoice over the Hanukkah Song. Version two was good, two. Three sucked, but you can’t win ’em all.

  2. Or, version two good was good, too.

  3. How funny — I noticed this morning that Sloppy Joes were coming up later this week on the school lunch menu, and did the same thing! 🙂

  4. I feel the same way about Sandler’s general humor, but I have to admit liking several of his songs. I loved the Hanukkah song, but my favorite was “Red-Hooded Sweatshirt.” And now I’ll be singing *that* one all day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

