Posted by: Kate | September 19, 2009

To Chat or not to Chat?

I just got a hair cut.  Nothing too wild or extravagant, just a trim and shaping, no big deal.

Normally, when I go for such a thing, I prefer as little conversation as possible.  Part of this is because I already have a hard time hearing, and when you add in the white noise of hair dryers and other conversations,  plus the removal of my glasses so I can’t read lips, I’m rendered effectively deaf.  And part of it is because I just really enjoy having my hair played with, and would rather just zone out and enjoy instead of having to think and focus.

But today, my hairdresser was all sorts of chatty, and she spoke clearly enough that I could hear her well, and I just didn’t have the heart to be all curmudgeonly and antisocial, so we chatted away for however long I was there.  Which is fine, I suppose,  though the silent treatment really would have been OK by me.

Willem was appalled on my behalf, because he has an even stronger preference for a conversation-free hair-cutting experience.  And I wondered, what’s the general consensus?  Do most people go to the salon with the plan to chat the whole time, or would you rather be able to tuck into a cheesy magazine and just tune out for a while?

(She did a fabulous job, by the way.  I won’t bother grabbing the camera for proof, because that’s just not my style, but trust me, I have really good hair today.  The true test, of course,  comes after the first shower, when we see if it looks decent on its own… because I don’t even know if I own a hair dryer, much less use one with any regularity.)

Responses

  1. Unless it’s a hairdresser to whom I’ve been many times, I always find the conversation bit awkward.

  2. I usually just go to my sister now…can’t get away with not talking to her!

  3. I’ve been to the same person for over 20 years, following her from salon to salon. We talk or not as the mood hits, but yes, I know all about her kids and life, and vice versa. Makes conversation easy, actually.

  4. I’ve been going to the same girl for seven years now, she has a one-chair salon in her home and is married to a boy I went to elementary school with. Yes, we chat. A lot!

  5. I prefer the silent treatment myself. The last time I went (wow that was ages ago), I had four hairdressers all asking the same thing, one cut, one washed, one did the colour and by the time I got to the next one who did the blow dry I really didn’t feel like saying much more than ‘shut up!”

  6. I get my hair cut by a good friend so we usually chat but if it’s someone I don’t really know, I really prefer silence. I get the tingles having my hair played with which feels really good and talking ruins that.

  7. For a haircut, I don’t mind chatty. I have a regular stylist I go to and we chat the whole time. If I sneak in somewhere to someone new for a quick cut, well, I kinda like to meet new people. Chatty doesn’t bother me.

    I don’t like my GYN to be chatty though…small talk during THAT exam kinda annoys me.

  8. The same guy has been cutting my hair for almost 20 years, so we always chat when I’m in his chair. If I didn’t know him so well I would probably prefer to sit in silence.


Leave a Reply

Categories

