Posted by: Kate | September 2, 2009

Meh

I’ve been knocked flat – or, I suppose, semi-upright but hunched over – by morning sickness again the past few days. Would really, really rather not turn this blog into one long vent about my state of nausea, but at this point it’s very hard to form a coherent thought, much less stringing more than two together.

It’s OK, really, because it’s reassuring, in an odd sense, and has taught me to be deeply grateful for whoever decided to tile the bathroom walls instead of just paint and/or wallpaper… tile is just so much cooler to lean up against.

So, the Madhouse thing? I just couldn’t, today. It’s about poverty, something I have certainly experienced and could come up with serious, intense sorts of ideas about the topic in general, or my history in particular, except that serious and intense typically requires more oomph than I have.

Having just dropped a frightening amount of money upon the counters at several local retailers, mostly to build an entire new work wardrobe for Willem – somehow the attire suitable for an adjunct professor, then high school teacher, then grad student, just doesn’t quite make the grade for an associate professor – I could make some pale joke about our own efforts toward poverty, but the reality is, we’re doing OK. The bank account isn’t exactly bursting at the seams, but we have a firm safety net in place with a good outlook for the long term, and I have a basis for comparison that includes literally scrounging through the couch cushions for lunch money, so – no matter what certain fan club members might say – we’re not paupers.

Instead, I’ll leave you with the list of other sometime-Madhouse participants, with hopes that one of them was a bit more on the ball than I was.  And I’ll do what I can to write more in-advance posts, for the days when the phrase “puked my brains out” feels a bit too accurate.

Responses

  1. doesn’t it feel good to feel so bad??? lol

  2. And here I was hoping the pickle cure would be more permanent!

  3. Have you tried Sour Patch Kids? They seemed to help for me…

  4. I took Nux Vomica when I had morning sickness. It’s homeopathic – in the form of pellets that you dissolve under your tongue. Did the trick for me most of the time. Worth a try.

    I hate the feeling of nausea. Yuck.

  5. Oh no, I hope you feel better soon!

  6. Sorry couldn’t get into the Madhouse thing either this week but I haven’t got morning sickness I assure you. Kate, it’s a good sign of strong hormonal response. The outcome is worth the early discomfort

  7. This seemed like as good a place as any to thank you for this blog. You make blogging seem really accessible and gave me the courage to start my own. I picked wordpress because you use it, so I’m logged in as my blog. I have posted in the past as Caecilia42.


Leave a Reply

Categories

