Posted by: Kate | August 27, 2009

Seven in One Blow

I just made seven doctor’s appointments.

Three OB-GYN appointments for me: the initial prenatal nurse visit on September 22nd, an earlier MD visit because my pregnancy with Jacob was high-risk on the 9th, and a routine follow-up to the theoretically-initial visit at the end of September. An annual physical for me, for Willem and for Jacob, and, just so she won’t feel left out, a follow-up/transfer of care visit for Emily.

My appointment calendar is smoking just a little bit. Moving right at the same time as discovering a pregnancy makes for more complications than just not being able to help lift heavy stuff…

But, we have health insurance, and that’s no small thing to appreciate. I’ve been able to do enough low-key online research to be satisfied that we’re not seeing any doctors with secret back entrances and a need to dip oneself in bleach after leaving. And we’re settling into the area, so that even if we move again next summer, it won’t be far enough away that we’ll need new doctors all over again.

Still, the end result – a notebook page entirely covered in notations and phone numbers and dates – is a bit overwhelming, and I’m reminded all over again of how much better I would feel if we were going to even just one of these new appointments based on word-of-mouth recommendation rather than random Internet searches.

Responses

  1. Ok, Kate-The-Appointment-Killer…! Go you- I’m sure it will all work out fine. Wish you were closer to Boston so I could send some recs your way….

  2. The nice thing is, you’re not committed to any of these doctors based on one appointment. So if you do get that “need the bleach” feeling, it’s easy enough to try a new one.

    I’m sure when the kids go back to school, it’ll be a cinch to ask around when you meet a couple other parents.

  3. That’s the thing about moving. I found my doctors the same way — if you’re new to the area and don’t know anybody that well yet, it’s hard to start talking about these things. I mean, you can’t just walk up to a woman you’ve met maybe once or twice and ask, “So, what gynecologist do you go to? She any good?”

    If you don’t click, you can always change doctors. When I picked doctors, I figured out which hospital I’d want to go to if I were sick or giving birth, then picked a practice that’s affiliated with it. And I lucked out — I don’t like heavy prescribers. These guys don’t just whip out the Rx pad when you walk in the door.

  4. Agreed… changing providers is not a big deal. Heck, I switched prenatal care providers when I was like 28 weeks with Jacob.

  5. I have a friend in the area who just had a baby…I completely trust her judgment and would be happy to get referrals from her.

  6. I agree – no obligation to stick with a dr. you don’t click with. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried a new doc and then left … I’m just picky that way. You’re in a big area – surely it won’t be too hard to find docs you like, esp. once you start meeting folks and getting personal recommendations. And at least all these are for normal, even GOOD, reasons! 🙂 No sudden illnesses or injuries … hope things stay that way and everyone’s checks go well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

