Posted by: Kate | July 28, 2009

No Reservations

Alas, as much as I would love the majority of you to be right, there’s no motion on the B&B front as of yet. We haven’t even tried, really, because there’s just too much going on and too much tied in to the idea of finding the perfect place. With me unable to drive until October, I can’t do any house-shopping on my own, and between finishing summer classes and stressing over his dissertation and dealing with the move, Willem can’t spare the extra stress and brain space that realty would demand.

Someday, yes, but not quite yet.

And I haven’t published anything knitting-wise, but it occurs to me that there’s no reason I couldn’t get rolling on that pretty soon. I’ve written out pattens for a baby blanket, socks and a handbag that I think are publishing-worthy… I’ll try and get focused on that within a couple months.

Nope, BeThisWay got it right. We’re Paris-bound, again. My mother got an excellent deal on a flight/hotel combination, under $500 per person for a 4-day stay, and she jumped at the chance. She called me Friday night at about 9:40 p.m., when we were still in this very loud, overwhelming furniture store. I told her that we’d be leaving soon, and could I call her back in 20 minutes? “Sure” she said, “but this deal I found expires in 20 minutes, so first you have to tell me if you want to go to Paris for a long weekend in November, to celebrate the uncorking of the Beaujolais Nouveau.” No thought required, lady; when someone offers me a paid trip to Paris, the answer is yes, whether it’s to go celebrate a wine I don’t drink or to attend a fashion show I don’t care about or to watch the paint try on a fountain I’ve never heard of. Yes, absolutely yes, let’s do it.

And then, because my mother hasn’t had stellar luck in finding Parisian-based businesses that are prompt in response (it took many days to confirm our apartment for the last trip), we had to wait for official confirmation.

And wait.

And wait.

And wait.

We finally heard last night that the flights have been confirmed, which, to me, means the rest of the trip will fall into place. And, frankly, if the hotel she’s planning on works out, that should create some very interesting moments all by itself, seeing as how it’s right on the edge of the Pigalle red light district

So, yeah, that’s the big surprise. Not as long-term or involved as a B&B or yarn shop would be, but frankly, I don’t think I’m ready right now. Six months ago, I was in one of the darker depressions of my life and could barely function. I need to spend a little time basking in the sheer mundane, normal, predictable routine of my life before we branch out into professional hosting or retail. Maybe next year…


So, BTW… a sweater for the boy, yes? Details, please.

Responses

  1. That is awesome! hope you have a great time!

  2. Woo hoo!!! I won! I won! *!**!*!&*****

    Ahem.

    I am pleased to have been correct. I am pleased for you that you will be on another delightful sojourn across the pond.

    And while you certainly don’t really need to send me something, a sweater for the boy would be lovely. πŸ™‚

  3. Yay for Paris! Boo for me not winning……….and for not having a new yarn shop to visit the next time I get to Boston. πŸ˜‰

  4. Aw, I started to say another trip, but didn’t. Ah, well, all that matters is that you have an awesome trip planned and that life is treating you well these days. Good on ya!

  5. WOW, a trip, with your mom huh? Sounds, entertaining! hehe Have a blast! Lots of Love!

  6. I’m sure you’ll have a great time…I look forward to reading about all of the adventures.

  7. YAY Can I hitch a ride in a suitcase?

  8. Beyond awesome! I’m thinking of treating myself to a big trip for my 40th next year, and Paris is at the top of the list.

  9. Woohoo, Paris! Way less stressful than a B&B for now. πŸ™‚

  10. Biatch! Not once but twice and I’m still planning a trip to Paris.

  11. Sounds divine Kate! Wish I was coming too!

    On the Pigalle District front, Toby and I stayed there a few years back, not even knowing (or really noticing) the ehem, more interesting aspects the district is famed for.

  12. FUN!

    I went to Paris in 2001, just before 9/11. My cousin moved there with her husband – and they now live in the burbs w/their 4 kids, all born in France.

    Way cool.

  13. AWESOME SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET AWESOME! That is a no-brainer “yes.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

