Posted by: Kate | June 18, 2009

As if I Didn’t Want a Baby Enough Already

A few people have asked me whether it’s difficult for me to knit things for babies, or to spend the day (as I did yesterday) with L’s baby, or to hear about friends getting pregnant, and so on. What with my utter failure at getting knocked up after two years of trying, after no problematic test results and enough Clomid to fell a horse and all.

The answer, honestly, is no. It’s OK. I’ve come to terms with the possibility that Emily and Jacob may be all the kids I’ll ever bear, and that’s really a pretty wonderful deal all by itself. If I do get pregnant again, I’ll be over the moon, but if not, it’s survivable. Actually, beyond that; I have built a dream life for myself, and I can attain that dream life without increasing the world’s population. I truly enjoy my time with L’s baby, who is just smiley and cuddly and fat as all get-out. I just learned of a friend’s pregnancy and am beyond thrilled for her.

And I do love knitting things for babies, because it’s such quick gratification for things that are inexpressibly cute.

So, yes, seeing the little handknits does remind me that, nope, not for my own baby, but it’s in a wistful, light sort of way; the same way I feel when I walk past the Godiva store in the mall instead of going in.

Anyway, this is all just a preface for a bit of knitting show-and-tell, since it has been ages and ages since I’ve finished something I can post. (I have finished a pair of socks, but am submitting the pattern to be published and therefore have to keep it all hush-hush until they accept/reject it.)

Without further ado, I bring you the first winner of my blog birthday giveaway, Evil Twin’s Wife and her requested Hemlock Ring Blanket, made for a friend of hers who is expecting her first baby, a girl, in a few months.

2009-06-18-hemlock-ring2-blocking
It’ll look even better once it’s dry, but I couldn’t wait and had to take the photo while it was blocking.

I’m quite happy with it; that center flower part really pops when the colors are alternated. I’ve made one other Hemlock Ring, and was thrilled with how that came out, so this may well become one of my fall-back patterns. Plus, it’s FAST – a week, give or take, and I’ve got a lap blanket. I’m not sure I could make one much bigger, because already this pink-and-green one – at 42″ – becomes a bit unruly at the edges. Much larger and I think it would be completely impossible to lie flat, at least with the math I’m using to increase around the edges.

And because I am weak, and knew that the new baby’s room theme is pink-and-green, and this yarn simply leaped off the shelf at me during my last WEBS trip, I made a little hat and socks to go along with it. No pattern used, just outta my head – I love, love, love how the colors pooled on the hat. Totally unplanned, that, and just utter knitting magic.

2009-06-14-baby-hat1

2009-06-14-baby-hat2
All together now: Awwwwwww…

Now it’s off to the next project; Melanie, are you ready?


And, sheesh, I stop reading Bloglines for, oh, a month or so, and two of my favorite bloggers appear to have disappeared… ETW and Mel, if you’ve relocated, please let me know!

Responses

  1. Too cute!! that is one lucky baby!

  2. Very pretty!

  3. She is going to love it! It’s gorgeous!! Thank you so much.

    I’m still in the same place: eviltwinswife.blogspot.com, but if you use Internet Explorer, it and Blogger have been having “issues” for a while. I downloaded Firefox months ago and never looked back. πŸ™‚

  4. You are so talented!!!!

  5. So cute . .actually I prefer other people’s babies, you can hand them back when they begin to leak.

  6. Those pieces are just gorgeous! Still being in the TTC#1 boat, I’m pretty into knitting baby things, as you say, quick gratification and so cute!
    (I just handed over a ‘horned’ beanie to a guy I know who’s expecting their first in a few weeks, and he said he want’s a matching one!)
    Plus I figure I can test knit all these things to make my faves for my bub in the future!

  7. those are marvelous…I’m ready to put my order in!!!!! πŸ˜€

  8. And here I thought *I* was one of your favourite bloggers!! ;-P

    Miss you! xoxo

  9. Oh, hon, I’m sorry. I went all “scorched earth” – and lost ALL my blogs. Dumbass girl that I am, I deleted my blogroll.
    I am SO ready! And I haven’t yet decided whether I’ll make a new blog or not.


Leave a Reply

Categories

