Posted by: Kate | June 1, 2009

…and Zombies

I’m not sure quite how many – and which – substances would be required to come up with the initial idea, but I can certainly see how it can blossom from there. That initial idea would be, of course, the recent remake of my favorite book, now titled Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

I’m only about five pages in right now, so I have no business whatsoever posting anything remotely resembling a review – but, seriously, if you have the faintest appreciation for Jane Austen, or zombies, it’s worth putting on your birthday list. I’ve already been forced, by my own inappropriate mirth, to read several chapters aloud to Willem… it might make more sense to just read the whole damn thing, a chapter at a time, like bedtime stories only less family-friendly.

I’d be farther in, at least eight or nine pages, but I reached a passage that was descriptive enough that I wasn’t able to read and eat my lunch at the same time (lunch involved pasta, peas and rare roast beef… too much verisimilitude between the first attack scene and my plate). This is a big deal, because I have happily noshed on all manner of foods while watching my true crime shows. Bill Kurtis starts telling me about the volume of blood left upon the walls, and I just make sure the volume isn’t loud enough to waft into the kids’ rooms and take another bite of ravioli. But somehow the written word seems to have a bit more of an impact on me, or perhaps it’s just the addition of mobile putrefaction that sends me over the edge.

So, I’ll save it for quiet times… both kids have ball games tonight, so that seems like a perfect opportunity. I’m already not good at fitting in with the mom-cliques that form, might as well go ahead and embrace that.

How about you? Read anything good lately?

Responses

  1. I am having bad book luck. I bought 2 books and both are missing pages…I have to take them back this week and get them replaced with full versions. I’ll come back to this post once I start reading again.
    I must agree though a well written book can certainly alter my eating & sleeping habits more than any TV Show or Movie.

  2. Am struggling to get through Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates. It’s a snoozer.

  3. Have heard fantastic things about P&P&Z- it’s on my list. Not reading anything that great just now- an reading the Mary Russall/Sherlock Holmes books by Laurie King as an attempt to escape my overwhelmed life! Nothing like a little fluff to distract.

  4. I just read Revolutionary Road and have to agree with Trenches….the writing is excellent (he has a gift of language) – but it is a snoozer.

    And before that, I read The Road by Cormac McCarthy. um…..It was so horrifying I couldn’t put it down… and afterwards I seriously started buying tons of canned food and was thinking about purchasing a gun. This is the first book where I flipped to the end to see what was going to happen because I couldn’t take not knowing. (I usually chide people who do that).

    And sitting now waiting for me is The Shack and Founding Mothers, by Cokie Roberts (which I can’t wait to read because we just watched the John Adams HBO mini-series and I want to knwo more).

  5. I just got my copy and can’t wait to get started!

  6. I haven’t read any non-academic books since our “ski trip” to Colorado in April, and they weren’t all that great. I did, however, run across a beautiful online magazine dealing with love, sex and relationships called Filthy Gorgeous Things that I’m finding rather fascinating at the moment. Bon appetit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

