Posted by: Kate | May 10, 2009

What Did You Do With Your Truck?

Best.

Surprise.

Ever.

Really.  Willem had the coolest idea, and he followed through (it took quite a bit of effort, seeing as how we’re in New Hampshire and apparently such things are rare and difficult to obtain here), and brought it home.  And we had one of the best days I have had in a very long time – which is saying something, because I have to admit that the past two months have contained quite a bit of that sort of thing.  I’m trying not to get all complacent and optimistic, but it’s tough.

So, I’m very sorry to report, ladies and gentlemen, but your spouse just fell to Rank #2 on the Husband List.  At least for today, mine wins.

Because, his surprise?  Look:

2009-05-09-Conv-WeddingCakeHouse1
The car, not the house… can you imagine??

Imagine my shock and bewilderment when, after a mysterious three-hour absence, he roared into the driveway in this puppy.  My first question was, “What did you do with your truck?”

I have to admit that my first thought was, “Best trade-in ever,” but it was quickly followed by, “But he loved that truck, how sad,” so I’m not totally self-absorbed.  Yet.

I have a million stories from the day, endless memories, and deep, deep gratitude.  It was meant as a sort of combination Mother’s Day/birthday gift, and was completely overindulgent and unexpected; just about perfect, really.

2009-05-09-Conv-e-j-backseat1

And it’s funny to me just to read that, because today would probably rank up pretty high if there was a Difficult Parenting Days List next to the Husband one.  I had a bit of an epiphany about my approach to parenthood and a key way that it could be improved – I really can’t overemphasize the number of future blog posts that this one day has inspired – and, like any new endeavor, it will take hard work and vigilance to truly implement it.  By the end of lunchtime, I was so stressed and angry that I could actually hear my brain creating new mutations of cortisol.  (Which?  In case you’re wondering?  Not a pretty sound.)

But once everyone’s blood sugar had settled and we’d spent a few hours driving around and wandering the beach, you could feel the edge just drain out of everyone.  We met my father and his girlfriend for dinner, reluctantly returned the car to the airport, and drove home late last night.  We were gone for only 12 hours, plus Willem’s initial retrieval, but the sense that we had been away and on vacation was so strong that, when we pulled in the driveway, I expected the whole house to be closed and locked tight, with a frantic attention-starved cat in the doorway.

2009-05-09-Conv-e-sleep2009-05-09-Conv-j-sleep

Truly a fantastic idea and a wonderful escape, and I’ll save my rant about alienating Hallmark holidays for next month.  Those of you who just realized your spouse took second place for the weekend, never fear; lots of car rental places have convertibles, and if the idea spreads like wildfire, Willem can rest with the knowledge that he started a trend.

Responses

  1. Love. It. 🙂

  2. Nice Idea. Must admit I had the horrors at first knowing that you’re not working and thinking what a silly purchase under the circumstances! Great fun for a day out! I much prefer ‘experiences’ to gifts! Mine bought Gold Class movie tickets for Friday, really looking forward to it. Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. That Willem? He’s a smart cookie. Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. What a thoughtful and creative idea!

  5. Yeah, my husband would never measure up in that department as I’m guessing we couldn’t fit four carseats in that snazzy vehicle… (I got knives – totally practical!)

    Glad you had a Happy Mothers’ Day!!

  6. Aha, it finally clicked he’d *rented* it and not traded it in, heh.

    That was very creative!

  7. Oh what fun it is to ride… What a great surprise! I guess you’re going to have to let that Willem stick around.

  8. Ohhh, that is awesome! And the weather was perfect for it, too.

  9. Yes, your’s wins!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

