Posted by: Kate | March 21, 2009

From Talk Show Fodder to Lifetime Movie

I had this whole post planned out, about how much I approve of the fact that my mother-in-law is clearly overmedicated and, despite the wonders of modern chemistry (and I don’t know – or care – whether it’s of the prescription variety or the street variety), she has still managed to prove that she is fundamentally opposed to me on a number of basic worldview sorts of matters, and after two days she is no closer to having time alone with my kids.

But that was before the phone rang this morning. Now I’m typing one-handed while holding a sweet but unbelievably big baby girl – she’s two months old now, and has got to weigh 14 pounds – because there is a big outbreak of drama in L&X’s life, and so we’re taking the kids for the weekend while L visits the State Police and gets some stuff dealt with.

It’s a long story, and a good one, the kind of thing that makes you say, “You just can’t make this shit up.” Now we’re no longer in Jerry Springer’s territory, and have moved into a made-for-television movie.

I’ll share what I can as soon as I’m more confident of the facts… but for now, it means a change in plans here. Which is kind of, all by itself, the status quo.

Responses

  1. Oh jeez. It’s never dull at your house is it? At least you get some baby time to distract you from the mother-in-law.

  2. Glad you’re getting some baby cuddling time, but sorry it is at the expense of L’s current stability… Nice to have the distraction this weekend I would think! Email me if you’re still able to be on for tomorrow night!

  3. MIL is consistent, let’s give her that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

