Posted by: Kate | March 16, 2009

This and That

Just a bit of miscellanea to toss out there before a chaotic week…

2009-03-10-spacemen-both
Last Sunday, the kids decided they needed to be space invaders, keeping the planet safe for… democracy? Sugar? I don’t know. It was my day to sleep in, but somehow the bedroom door didn’t get closed, so I was treated as an unconscious but potentially dangerous space alien during their adventures. It was a lot of fun to fake sleep and then RRRAAAHHHH! at the right moment.

2009-03-09-snow-day-j1
We had a snow storm last week – again – and the timing of it meant that Jacob and I had to clear out the driveway instead of sitting around like slugs while Willem did it. It was the first time that Jacob was actually helpful, not just present.

2009-03-09-toenails-e2009-03-09-toenails-j
Later that same day, I decided I wanted to paint my toenails. Some desperate way of feeling just a little bit better, I think. (No, it didn’t especially work.) Emily wanted to join in… so, of course, Jacob had to play along, too.

2009-03-15-river-rapids22009-03-15-river-rapids4
Socks for Mom, because I sent some to Mary last month and Mom was heard to remark that she occasionally gets cold feet, too. Since I didn’t think this was a reflection on her last-minute hesitancy, I gathered up all of my sock yarn and took a picture, so that she could choose a color. Somehow this ended up with JMLC lining up a pair for herself, too… another week or so, OK, J?
Knitting notes: the pattern was free online, and I got gauge and knitted pretty faithfully to the pattern, I think, but beyond the stitch pattern I kind of stopped paying attention, because I’ve knit enough socks to have memorized the basics. Pattern called River Rapids Socks and the yarn is Dream in Color Smooshy, I think, but I can’t find the ball band. (I’m sure about the brand, just not about the specific flavor.) Knitted on US size 0’s, and still finished in 5 days total.  In vivo photos taken with my little tripod, which is a lovely, lovely thing.

So, that housekeeping is done. This coming week, collectively, we have three dental appointments, physical therapy, various other unpleasant tasks, and a visit from my mother-in-law. It makes drinking seem more and more appealing every time I think about it.

Responses

  1. I am so. excited. for socks! I can wait as long as it’s needed to get them. 🙂 And if you wanted to come down to Boston to knit them, say, maybe when your MIL is there, I’d be happy to host a little visit with you, the kiddos and the knitting.

  2. I love your socks! If you don’t already have one, you should put together an etsy shop and sell them online. They’re way cool. I totally would buy some from you.

  3. Love the Space Invaders!! As for MIL, you could always come to Canada to hide out from her…

  4. I so wish I could knit that fast. I have been knitting socks for other people almost exclusively for the past 2 months and I have only 3 pairs of socks to show for it.

  5. Have you started a poll about whether or not she’s really going to come?

    And I’m still thinking about you — hang in there.

  6. The socks rock!


Leave a Reply

Categories

