Posted by: Kate | March 14, 2009

Fire Hat

The other week, when my dad and I took Jacob to the Museum of Science in Boston, we ate lunch in the cafeteria and saw a teenager wearing a hat with black on top and flames near the brim. Of course, my dad, being constitutionally unable to simply have a conversation with a kid that doesn’t involve goofiness and screwing around, had to go off on a tangent that involved, “Oh, no, Jacob, look! That kid’s head is on fire! What should we do?”

Happily, Jacob has finally reached an age where he understands and expects Grandpa Starburst (so named because… well, you figure it out) to mess with him. So they bandied back and forth about pouring water on her head, throwing her in the river, and so on. I’m just grateful it didn’t devolve into a round of potty humor.

Of course, soon after we got home, Jacob tried on his Car Hat and realized it’s really getting too small for him. So, what was his request?

Yep:

2009-03-13-flame-hat2

I’m reasonably happy with how it came out, particularly considering my rudimentary Fair Isle (i.e., more-than-one-color-per-row) skills. I used the chart on this page as a rough basis, though I did fewer repeats and fewer rows because my yarn (no idea what, exactly – I have a big bag of cheap, bulky acrylic and acrylic blends, intended specifically for kids’ hats) is much heavier than the called-for yarn. It took several attempts to make it the right size, enough to cover his ears without needing to be folded-over (oh, the vagaries of a four-year-old’s fashion sense).

2009-03-13-flame-hat1

So now he has his Fire Hat, and I’m already more than halfway through the next project…

Responses

  1. I’m in awe of the fact that you can look at a hat and work out a pattern for it.

    I mailed a package to you yesterday. Look for it on Monday or Tuesday.

  2. Too cute!

  3. So cute!

  4. Very nice!
    Who doesn’t love fire on their clothes!

  5. I have to say “PRETTY COOL!”

  6. So cool! Now I kinda want a hat with flames on it.

  7. Very cool! And gosh, he looks so much older in that picture!! What a difference a few months makes …


Leave a Reply

Categories

