Posted by: Kate | February 22, 2009

I Think she’s Catching on

We took our approximately-monthly trip out to let the kids spend their allowance this morning. Each child earns a dime per chore, with three or four chores a day, so that they get around $5-7 a month… so far, they seem content with this, though I’m waiting for Emily to try to negotiate for more.

Thus it was that we entered Toys Backwards-R Us in the face of an oncoming snowstorm, because their money was burning a hole in their wiggly little pockets.

I try to stay out of their purchasing decisions, aside from reminding them of how much money they have and that $3.99 is really $4. I feel like, it’s their money, and they should be able to spend it on whatever catches their attention. This includes candy; I steer them away from gum, but if they want to use some of their allowance to buy candy, fine by me. The trade-off is that they never ask me to buy candy from a checkout aisle on a regular grocery-shopping trip, because they’ve been well-versed in the “Bring your allowance” mantra.

Emily chose to buy some little figurine – are Bakugans popular with all kids, like this generation’s Pokemon or Pogs, or is it just her? Because she’s way into them all of a sudden – and with what was left, she bought an enormous lollipop and a package of marshmallow rope type candies. (Jacob bought accessories for his Matchbox cars race track, which is a huge change from his normal purchase… of Matchbox cars.)

During the drive home, Emily opened her candy and carefully spread it out on her stomach and lap, so as to be able to properly survey her stash. “Look, Mom, I’m covered in candy!” she exclaimed.

“Ohhh,” I said, in a solemn and sad voice, “you poor thing.”

She was quiet for a few beats, and then said, “Mom, I think you only say ‘you poor thing’ when you’re not actually feeling very sympathetic.”

I think she might be onto something.

Responses

  1. My house runneth over with Bakugan. My 11 yr old son and all his friends are obsessed with them. So, she’s normal. πŸ™‚

  2. Bakugans are The Thing for my third graders. Not so much for the fourth graders, though. Go figure.

  3. Yep. Emily’s gonna be just fine. πŸ™‚

    (For the record, I’ve never heard of Bakugans. But my kids were from the Pokemon generation. Good luck!)

  4. Hmm, my first grader doesn’t mention Bakugans. Never heard of them.

    I love when kids learn sarcasm.

  5. One of the funniest things about BB is his sarcasm. He caught onto mine pretty early and now spouts his own on a regular basis. I’m sure I’ll get annoyed at it as he gets older, but for now, it makes me laugh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

