Posted by: Kate | February 21, 2009

That Would’ve Made for an Interesting Parent-Teacher Conference

Since joining the ranks of the unemployed, I’ve received some seriously wonderful gifts and cards, just people taking the time to lift my spirits a bit.  They’ve brought a series of bright spots into my life, and are all much-appreciated; from the gift certificates to the chocolates, the notebooks to the yarn, it’s lovely, all around.

Perhaps the most unexpected, and certainly the most talked-about, amongst the gifts I’ve received is a bit more risque than average: a small, but tasteful, kit of sex toys.  It’s in a small, white, rectangular box, with writing on the sides but no pictures.  I stowed it carefully away in a basket on my bedside table, and a bit of time passed.  (Notice the absence of detail on whether that time passed with, or without, said toy usage.  Some things are just better left unsaid.)

Meanwhile, Emily is well-ensconced in the midst of her third grade year, and they have recently started focusing on geometry.  Last week’s homework assignment was to scour the house for various three-dimensional shapes, draw them, and bring something small into school.  She had an easy enough time with the cylinder, the pyramid, and the cone, but somehow got stuck on the simplest one.  “I need a prism!” she announced, and thus I learned that a prism is not just a cut piece of glass that refracts light but is also a solid geometric figure.  She was specifically looking for a prism with six sides; in short, a cube or a shoebox-shaped item.

Being distracted with something-or-other, I somewhat absentmindedly suggested that she check on my dresser.  I thought I might have a jewelry box or something there.  (J, are you seeing where this is going?)

Emily bounced out a few moments later with – oh, yes, indeed – the “Friday Night Delight” box in her hand.  “This will work!  This is a prism!” she chirped.  In a move that might almost have come across as casual to an observer, I suggested that she just use a cereal box, instead.  She complied happily enough, and I returned the box to its spot… only a bit farther tucked-away, this time.

Responses

  1. snicker…

    And since I teach that age, I can assure you that if you hadn’t seen it, and she had either drawn a picture of it with words included, or taken it in, someone in her class would have figured it out quicker than her teacher. Scary but true.

  2. Hee-hee. Glad I could help with that one. 🙂

  3. Now THAT’S funny!!!

  4. Boy you’d have had some explaining to do had she opened it . . .lucky save!

  5. LOL!

  6. *giggle giggle giggle*

  7. Children eh? They have a knack of discovering the very things you don’t want them to discover. Even those undisclosed feelings somehow get onto their radar.

  8. ROFL – however, I can’t help thinking that isn’t it nice she is still in those innocent years??


Leave a Reply

Categories

