Posted by: Kate | February 6, 2009

Never Mind

We didn’t get the mortgage.

The writing has been on the wall for a while, so this is not a shock, today. And I have enough composure and perspective remaining to realize that it’s not a “never ever” sort of situation; we should still be able to move this summer, though into a rental for the immediate future, and within a few years we’ll be in the house we want to be in.

But it still bites, perhaps even reaching the level of gnawing.

I’m mostly numb now, having had a meltdown of epic proportions on Wednesday night, around a topic that is still so painful to me that I cannot assign it words. And honestly, it isn’t worth crying about, because it’s all just logic and finances and a crappy economy.

So I sit here, feeling as though my brain is wrapped in gauze, and am able to dredge up a vague gratitude that it doesn’t hurt more.

Responses

  1. BUMMER!!!!!!!!!!!! bigger & better things must be coming your way.

  2. Ugh. I’m sorry.

  3. F&*^% Economy. Is there any place it isn’t screwing people over? I’m so sorry. I hope it means that the perfect place with the perfect mortgage is in your close future.

  4. I’m sorry, this really sucks.

  5. {{{hugs}}} have some of the fruit bowl chocolates. You deserve it.

  6. It still hurts to postpone a dream. I’m sorry.

  7. Have you narrowed it down to a particular island yet or do you want me to just throw a dart at the map?

    on a serious note I totally understand the disappointment and heartache from postponing a dream, specially when it has become the light at the end of the tunnel in a dark time. I’m sorry you guys are going through this 😦

    (((HUG)))

  8. This economy is really, really tough. We found out a couple of weeks ago that we aren’t going anywhere, because our house has significantly dropped in value since we bought it. That means staying put, for now.
    I like your idea of renting at first. That means you still get to have the excitement of moving near the beach!

  9. Sorry about the mortage.

  10. Crapola.

  11. I’m so sorry. The state of the economy is the very reason we decided to put off buying a bigger house for a few years. I was worried we’d have trouble getting a mortgage, and that selling our current house would be impossible. Hopefully things will improve soon so that you can buy the house you dream of.

  12. Glad to find your blog on Becky’s new blogroll at Suburban Matron.

    Platitudes like “everything works out for the best” and “it could be worse” generally enrage me, so I certainly won’t say them to you.

    May you find the house of your dreams at the best possible time at the best possible price. In the meantime, may you enjoy a large bottle of wine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

