Posted by: Kate | January 21, 2009

Proof of Exhaustion

You know that you’ve had a difficult couple of months, with high-intensity problems and busloads of stress and details, when, all within a 24-hour span, your husband’s iPod converter is stolen out of his truck while parked in front of the house, your son’s beloved kindergarten teacher abruptly leaves the school, and your glasses are inexplicably broken despite being on your face and unjostled all day… and you just shrug and add them to the list of things to deal with.

Not long ago, any one of these things would have rated a post for itself.  I’d have mused about the invasive and violating nature of theft, especially for Willem – this is the first time he’s had something of value stolen – and how nasty it feels to know that someone walked by, opened the truck door, and rifled around enough to find this $80 accessory and take it.  I had never once locked the doors to my minivan when it was parked in the driveway, and until three weeks ago, I literally did not own a house key.  We simply never locked the doors, and I had given my spare to my father, who had then lost his key ring, and it was just never worth replacing.  Willem had also lost his house key, so we had to go out and get a new doorknob to install on the day we left for my mother’s, so that we could leave the house locked while we were gone for two weeks.  It’s a mindset change, simple but fundamental.

I’d have vented about the high rate of turnover at Jacob’s school, this being the third primary teacher in three years who has left with no warning, and the fact that I don’t like the successor to the teaching throne.  We are seriously considering pulling him out of school for the remainder of the school year, since there’s no need for him to be in daycare with me out of work, and money is tight.  And yes, I get the irony of the fact that the kid was accelerated into kindergarten a year early because of how well he was doing, and now we’re thinking of abandoning school altogether for several months – but Jacob doesn’t need to be the new kid in the public school, and we were planning to have him start at the kindergarten level after we moved, anyway.

I’d have whined about not wanting to go glasses-shopping, in between trips to the hospital and calls to realtors and the hundreds of other balls I’m juggling.

But compared to the bigger things – health woes, infertility, job loss, a new baby who is not mine – these are mere inconveniences.  Bumps in the road, but not even rating as full detours.  Just distractions.

I cannot wait until we cycle back around to the point where these sorts of simple hassles seem like a big deal.

Responses

  1. Ah well, at least it’s not 34 degrees and you havent developed a strange rash on your forearms and hands. I often feel like that, when will it EVER end.

  2. I’ve experienced that energy, too, when in the thick of my husband’s unemployment. Now that he is working again, I find myself on heightened alert for the s*it to hit the fan at any given moment…I also tend to not stress the small stuff as much anymore.

    Here’s to hoping that the big things work themselves out the way they should AND the simple hassles remain a small deal.

  3. What a big ol’ pile of blech! Here’s hoping that tomorrow the little things are of a more positive nature.


Leave a Reply

Categories

