Posted by: Kate | January 13, 2009

Twisted Logic

If there is junk food in the house, particularly of the cheap-chocolate variety, then I have a near-compulsion to eat as much of it, as quickly, as possible.

Not because I love the taste so much – I do, mind you, love my chocolate, but not to the degree of binge-eating – but because my brain has created a twisted little rationalization whereby, if I eat it all today, then there will be none left tomorrow, and therefore I will eat better tomorrow.

Please tell me I’m not the only one.

Responses

  1. No, you’re not the only one. My vice tends to be potato chips. I rarely bring them into the house for that reason! And I can’t count the number of times I’ve told the kids, when they want junk food, “alright, just eat it and when it’s gone, it’s gone…”

  2. …And now you know why I don’t bake cookies and such more often. As soon as they’re out of the oven, it’s a siren song: “We’re not healthy, better get the lot of us out of the house…”

    Interestingly enough, the cookie dough itself doesn’t call to me in the same way. Which is why I can keep that stuff in the fridge or freezer and bake one or two cookies when I have a craving, and it’s enough.

    Funny how one never has this problem with lettuce.

  3. Nope, not the only one. Which is why a dozen costco chocolate chip cookies disappeared alarmingly fast.

  4. Oh I hear you, loud and clear!!!!!!!

  5. Nope. You are not alone.

    Doritos and peanut butter fudge are weaknesses of mine, although for obvious reasons, not at the same time. I buy into the theory that it’s better to just get it over with and over-consume in the course of one day versus spreading out the extra calories over time…

    …as long as your plan does NOT include replenishing your supply when you’re finished.

  6. Been there – done that…..and then bought some more.

  7. So.not.the.only.one.

    I also do the same rationalizing with Doritos.

  8. I can polish off a box of See’s dark chocolate nuts and chews in one afternoon…

  9. There is a reason we don’t have anything remotely…oh wait…I just remembered, there is an opened bag of dark chocolate chips in the cupboard.

    Excuse me, I’ll be back later.

  10. Oh Kate, I’m right there with you. I can’t have sweets in the house. I have no self control.

  11. I have no clue what you’re talking about, said the girl, as she brushed Ring Ding crumbs off the desk.


Leave a Reply

Categories

