Posted by: Kate | December 4, 2008

A Narrow Escape from Terrible Tragedy

It’s one thing to have seriously considered the risk of L having her baby at 32 weeks… but Tuesday night featured another near-miss, as well. This one would perhaps not have been as large of a risk in terms of human life, but given the recent fragility of my mental state, I shudder to think of the possible consequences…

Willem had already gotten the kids in the car, and I was rushing out the door when I remembered my camera. I have a Very Nice Camera, with a Very Nice Lens, and it is one of my prized possessions. I would like to think that, in the event of a fire, I would rouse my children and grab their favorite stuffed animals first, but a little part of me wonders if maybe I would make a beeline for the camera.

So you can imagine the heights of horror and shock I experienced when, as I reached for the door, the camera slipped from my hand and hit the concrete floor of the breezeway.

Take a moment, soak that in.  It’s a horrible, horrible image, isn’t it?

At the time, I couldn’t give it any attention.  Woman in Preterm Labor outranks Potentially Broken Camera, which kind of reassures me that I’m not an entirely inhuman and inhumane sort of person.  I could see broken glass entirely covering the lens, and could not get the little lens protector off to further inspect the damage.  I shelved that grief into a corner of my mind, and got through the evening.  L didn’t have her baby, which is a darn good thing for the baby’s health but, more to the point, I wouldn’t have been able to take any photos of the event – gasp!  The horror!  Oh, the humanity!

I got home around 1:00 in the morning, give or take a week or so, and lacked the energy to face the possibility that I had killed my own camera because I was in a hurry.  Willem, being of a stronger constitution than I, not to mention having a far weaker emotional attachment to the camera, took out a pair of pliers, and was immediately able to remove the lens protector.  And, lo and behold, there was much rejoicing: only the lens protector had broken.  Like a Secret Service Agent taking a bullet for the President, the lens protector had shattered, leaving the lens perfectly intact and operational.

Thus it is that not all of my photographs will resemble this:

2008-12-03-broken-lens1

And I can offer a moment of silence and gratitude for the little lens protector, fallen in the line of duty:

2008-12-03-broken-lens2

Responses

  1. I had a mini-heart attack reading this. I have a similar camera (the XT) and three very expensive lenses. I keep them all in a padded camera case – like the type you’d normally use for a video camera. I got it at Kmart for about 20 bucks and it holds camera, lenses and all my accessories. The only thing it doesn’t hold is my tripod, which I might not normally take along anyway.

  2. Wow… I think you should hang that lens protector on the Christmas tree. That counts as a miracle in my book.

  3. I actually like the photo of the broken lens protector. Art from near-tragedy.

  4. Yeah for the little lens protector..will we be having a special ceremony at it’s “burial?” I am so glad your camera did not get broken…I would DIE if mine or Steve’s did (especially Steve’s.)

  5. I like the picture taken thru the broken protector. A lot.

  6. And see, that’s how I feel about my iPod. I’d be lost without it.

    But maybe if I had a nicer camera, I’d change my mind (hint, hint Santa).

  7. BTW which camera do you have?

  8. Yeah! you had me all worked up!!
    glad to hear ll is well with the camera.

  9. sweet!

  10. That last photo is really, really cool.


Leave a Reply

Categories

