Posted by: Kate | November 6, 2008

Cut off a Foot

I walked into the designated place, made steady and sure eye contact with the woman at the desk, and said, “I want you to cut off a foot.”

2008-11-05-k-haircut-before1

I also walked out again, without hobbling or hopping, because I didn’t actually have any plans to lose an appendage.

2008-11-06-k-haircut-before2

Just 12″ of hair, because it was getting too long and boring and past due for a decent chopping.

2008-11-06-k-haircut-after1

Donated to Locks of Love, because it’s what I seem to do every few years.  Willem and Emily have each donated, at one time or another… Willem cut his hair on the morning of our wedding day.  I found out as I was walking down the aisle.  Surprise!

willem-long-hair101400-willem

My own new ‘do feels a little predictable and soccer-mom right now, which is probably apt because, you know, I am one.  I don’t think I could pull off an edgier cut, much less devote the time and attention to maintaining something that required things like styling potions and appliances.  I don’t even know if I still own a hair dryer, and our bathroom didn’t have an outlet that could have powered one until we’d lived here for over two years.

2008-11-06-k-haircut-after2

So, anyway.  C’est la coiffure.  What do you think?

Responses

  1. Cute! Goes with the glasses well.

  2. I think it looks very cute!

  3. personally I really like it, and it was done for a wonderful reason as well. Some day I’ll give that a try.

  4. I love it! Especially that last shot, where the side part is more in evidence. You look great in a side part. And the length is great for your face shape.
    Me, I have waaaaaay too long, Wild Man of Borneo hair, and it makes my face look about thirty feet long. I am contemplating a cut, but winter is fast approaching and I don’t want to freeze to death. Also, I am just climbing out of a depression, and do not have the mental strength to deal with the inevitable wailing and gnashing of teeth that will come from husband and kids when I chop it all off.

  5. LOVE IT!

  6. Love it! Very, very becoming!

  7. Very cute! Very fresh and easy looking!

  8. Tres chic! And boy – surprised on the aisle by such a dramatic change in your man – I may well have fainted! Nice to see your face…. I wear mine super short because I can’t manage any styling stuff whatsoever – I rub it with a towel and it’s done. I’ve been playing with products lately, and trying to make it look a little edgier – I used to wear it sticking straight up and can’t for the life of me figure out how I pulled that off! Anyway, lovely cut!

  9. You look beautiful!

  10. It’s so cute! I love it–looks great on you.

  11. Very nice.

  12. You look fabulous! I go back and forth between long and shoulder-length blunt myself. Whatever I’ve got I want the other. I’m thinking of cutting mine as well, but I’m afraid it will make me look even fatter.

    Anyway, it really does look good & I’ll bet you have an extra spring in your step today! Good for you for donating.

  13. It’s perfect for your face and it looks much lighter (I always love that post hair cut “light” feeling I get).

  14. Gorgeous! I love the new look.

  15. You look great! I just got my thank you card from locks of love. It was addressed to Hearther.

  16. Oooo oooo ooooo, I LOVE it! Soooo becoming! Miss Priss did the Locks of Love thing when she was around 9, and it’s almost long enough now for another donation. You look fantastic!

  17. Cutie! love it.

  18. Fantastic! Does it feel nice and light and swingy?

    When I read the first bit of the post, I assumed you wanted the ER to schedule the cutting off of someone else’s foot. I was trying to figure out how that was the outcome of a psych eval…

  19. Oooh lala!

    Tres chic!

  20. looks terrific!!

  21. HOT HOT HOT

  22. Sexy momma!!!

  23. You look hot! I say that in a totally-not-into-women kind of way.

    I’m going for a cut and color tonight. I wish I had your hair!

  24. It looks fabulous!!

  25. I think it looks great, and it’s definitely flattering, and it’s for a great cause. You can’t lose!

  26. loooove it!!!

  27. I think it looks great!!! I was expecting it to be shorter after having a foot taken off — your hair was longer than I thought!

    And it’s not soccer-mom-ish AT ALL. It’s cute, and very versatile.

  28. Oh my gosh, I love it! I looks really, really natural on you — a great look!


Leave a Reply

Categories

