Posted by: Kate | October 26, 2008

Addict

My husband has a serious addiction: sausage.

The good news is, this is not likely to land him out on the street corner, selling himself or the children to finance his next hit.

The better news is, beginning any sentence with, “When I make sausage tomorrow…” immediately garners his agreement, regardless of the request.  I could ask him to simultaneously donate bone marrow and run a marathon, and he would do his level best.


Homemade Sausage Recipe

2 pounds pork loin, pork butt, boneless pork ribs… cubed
1-2 tsp. fennel seed
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. black pepper
2 tsp. chili powder
1-2 TBSP. fresh parsley
1 TBSP. olive oil
1/2 onion, minced
1 TBSP. garlic, minced fine

In small, dry frying pan, toast fennel seeds at med-high heat ~5 minutes until light brown. Transfer to coffee grinder, grind fine. Saute onion and garlic in olive oil until translucent or slightly browned. Mix fennel, salt, pepper, chili powder, parsley, onion and garlic in with cubed meat, let stand in refrigerator (or a big laundry bin full of ice) for an hour. Then run through your fantastic, amazing Kitchenaid food grinder attachment on the fine setting. Prepare as desired, or form into patties and freeze.


Sausage Bread

1 recipe pizza dough (we find something online and mix it in the bread machine)
1 egg
1/4 c. shredded fresh parmesan cheese
1 c. shredded fresh Asiago cheese
1 c. shredded fresh mozzarella cheese
1 lb. sausage, browned and in fine pieces
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 375F.
Press pizza dough out flat on a cookie sheet, mix egg and parmesan cheese, brush over dough. Spread sausage and Asiago cheese in a fine layer over the egg, leaving 1/4″ margin at each edge. Salt and pepper to taste.

Roll dough from the long end, tuck ends under. Brush top of loaf with egg/cheese mixture if desired (will give the top a shinier surface). Bake 30 minutes, let stand 5-10 minutes, slice and serve.

Grateful acknowledgment to Wendy for the Sausage Bread idea…
And, with sausage, this comes out extremely dense and thick, like a loaf of bread and not a rolled-up sort of thing. I’ll have to play around with pepperoni, different doughs, etc.

Responses

  1. My mom would brown ground sausage, then roll spoonfuls up into crescent rolls. They make yummy rolls, almost like sausage biscuits. Mmmmm.

  2. I have to admit that sausage is one of my least favorite foods (next to seafood and mushrooms) I guess I had too much as a kid (my aunt & uncle owned a pig farm so it was plentiful.) I’m sure your recipe is great like the mushrooms but I just can’t do it. BTW Happy Mushroom was and has been a hitat our house ever since you released it.

  3. We’ve been saying we would try doing sausages since we first got our mixer… almost 5 years!! (We’re good procrastinators). Maybe we’ll get serious about it this fall. Do you use natural casings, and if so, where do you get them??

  4. OMG (and I don’t use that euphemism lightly) I do not know a soul who makes their own sausages! My recipe, trundle up to Round Corner butchery, select gourmet sausage of choice. Take home. Barbecue until ready. Shove in a long bread roll, splatter with Dijon Mustard or in son’s case, tomato sauce and a crusty roll!

  5. I too am impressed, being of the Baino mindset. We have several all-natural sausage vendors at our Farmer’s Market, and I always thought sausage wasn’t for makin’. But then again, I do have a kitchenaid mixer… hmmmm.

  6. I’m not a sausage fan, but that sausage bread recipe sounds like it would work for just about anything!

    I think I’ll try it with ham and swiss cheese, or steak and cheese!

  7. My grandparents would gather the grandchildren and spend an entire day making sausage, feeding it through a manual meat grinder and into sausage casings. I like your way better.

    in gutter/ And dude, (snort), your husband loves SAUSAGE. /in gutter

  8. My dad used to make a sausage roll thing like that. Thin dough seemed to be the key.

    And making sausage is fun. I hope to do that again someday. . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

