Posted by: Kate | October 25, 2008

That Would Be Different

[dishwasher running, other child chattering, lots of background noise, hard-of-hearing mother]

SON:  Someday, I want to go to [UNINTELLIGIBLE].

MOTHER:  I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you.

SON:  Someday, I want to go to [UNINTELLIGIBLE].

MOTHER:  [PAUSE]  Still didn’t hear you, kiddo.  What?

SON:  Someday, I want to go to [TWO SYLLABLES, STILL UNINTELLIGIBLE].

MOTHER:  Honey, I’m sorry, I can’t hear your word.  Are you saying that someday you want to go to heaven?

[dishwasher stops, other child subsides, silence descends upon the household]

SON:  No, I said, someday, I want to go to golfing.  To play golf again.

MOTHER:  Ohhhh.  Well, that would be different.

Responses

  1. Yeah, so golfing is good.

    Real good.

  2. oh this is what I ahve to look forward to? 😉 I can’t imgagine even the two being similarly interchanged except maybe by Tiger Woods.

  3. Haha my mother used to have a saying “I’m not deaf, I’m ignoring you!” try it . . .works like a charm.

  4. HA! I have had similar things with my kids. Never seem to be able to hear that all important last part of their sentences. Golfing – makes me giggle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

