Posted by: Kate | October 8, 2008

Welcome to my Personal Hell

On Friday, Willem made a grocery-store run, and picked up two boxes of cereal.  Frosted Flakes and Honeycomb; sort of right in the middle on the oversugary/granola spectrum.  The kids eat them both happily enough, so life should be good, right?

Sure, except it turns out that I haven’t ever eaten Honeycomb cereal before, but apparently the ’80s commercial jingle for it is permanently burned onto my temporal lobe.  Because since Friday, I have had this horrifyingly annoying song running on constant repeat in my poor, beleaguered brain, and no amount of head-pounding or whimpering can dislodge it.

Here, come share in my misery:

You are welcome.

Responses

  1. LOL! I soooo remember that.

  2. How sad that I didn’t even need to watch the video to have the song take up permanent residence in my brain. Yeah, thanks.

  3. lol

  4. Didn’t even have to play the video.

    Thank you.

    I hate you.

    🙂

  5. Well, I could just sit here, mute and alone, in my personal hell, now, could I? Misery loves company, after all…

  6. didn’t want to go there. i resisted the temptation to play the video. i’m safe (so far) from living that hell! 🙂

  7. You know, we didn’t even OWN a tv until I was in my teens, and then we were only allowed 1/2hr a week (yes, I said a week). But did I need to click on the video? No. What an incredible bow to the power of marketing. “Advertising is the poetry of the poor.”

  8. You are an evil, evil person.

  9. I didn’t remember it until I played it (which I had to do, it was impossible NOT to…)- much like fraught, i had some very strict tv limitations (PBS and MASH only)- and now it’s in my head (and adam’s which makes it so much better), never to be gone. Thanks ever so!!!

  10. Ohhhh, no. Not me. I’m too busy battling Barry Manilow, Bowling for Soup, and George Michael to listen to another earworm.

    But you enjoy. Really.

    And I have been craving, wickedly craving, Cap’n’Crunch.

  11. I barely remember this.

  12. […] my radar in the last day or two, and I felt a post bubbling up after commenting on Kate’s Personal Hell yesterday. Fact is I almost never think about television, though I sincerely hope that on its own […]

  13. […] my radar in the last day or two, and I felt a post bubbling up after commenting on Kate’s Personal Hell yesterday. Fact is I almost never think about television, though I sincerely hope that on its own […]

  14. When I was a kid, I was asked to take part in a mall survey, which was about Honeycomb. They were going on and on about how much bigger the new and improved Honeycomb cereal was and my reply was “yes, but the holes are much bigger, too.”

    I think I must have been a brat as a child….


Leave a Reply

Categories

