Posted by: Kate | September 13, 2008

The Written Word

Remember the George Carlin routine about bad hair days?  “Put on a hat and go to work, you shallow …” something.  It’s not that I’m afraid of the bad word, it’s that I can’t remember which one he used and can’t be bothered to Google it and check.   Someone out there will know.

Anyway, I rarely have concerns about my hair, or really most of my appearance.  That which I’m unhappy with, I cover up or ignore, no big deal.  Most of my clients are seen in the midst of crisis, and therefore they’re understandably self-focused; many of them do not recognize me three days later at their hearings.  And who else sees me?  My kids and husband, all of whom don’t seem terribly concerned whether I’m unshowered and in sweats or made up (hah!) and wearing a dress. 

I do, however, have one certain aspect of my being which has a noticeable wax and wane: my handwriting.  Some days, I love my writing; it’s neat, it’s legible, it has a certain flair to it.  Other days, it looks like I shoved a pen into my cat’s nether regions and chased her around the page. 

I’m never able to predict, either; it’s not like I can just slow down and take a deep breath and produce calligraphic, frameworthy handwriting at will.  Some days, it’s just chicken scratch.

Responses

  1. Wow I thought I was the only one who had good and bad handwriting days. It’s nice to know someone else has them too.

  2. Huh. I know my writing is much better with a fountain pen than with a ballpoint, because I learned to write with a fountain pen and was forced to use it for 13 years straight. But other than a change of mood or a change of writing implement, I don’t know what could be causing the difference.

  3. If I’m in a hurry, I can pull off some wild chicken scratch. Even on good days, I would say my handwriting is just passable. Long as I can read it, I suppose….

  4. I’m left handed and write backhand so it looks neat but nobody can understand it. Thank God for PC’s!


Leave a Reply

Categories

