Posted by: Kate | August 30, 2008

Little Green Bag

…and a maroon-ish one, too.

In theory, today was a sick day, because I had my second round of dental arghhhh yesterday and fully expected to be at least as out of commission as I was last time. In reality, I felt mostly fine today, a little tired, but I certainly could have worked if necessary. But I’d already found a replacement, and thus had a day alone in the house – kids and Willem and L and X scattered to their various schools, nobody here but me and the cat. It was blissful.

It seems to have become a habit, when my sisters visit – especially Mary, delightful little weasel that she is – that somehow I end up casting on some new project for them. Last August, Mary scored herself a pair of mittens, and then in April she went home with a new sweater.

This year it was the Celtic Tote from Interweave Knits Winter 2007. Mary pounced on the pattern first, and somehow enough yarn followed us home to make one for Sarah, as well. The first was cast on somewhere around August 5, and I finished both today.

2008-08-29-Celtic-totes1

I had completed the knitting on the bags several days ago, and did the last of the seaming last night, so today’s adventures involved deviating further from the pattern: one long, adjustable strap instead of two, lined with fabric, a little zippered pocket inside… and the end result, instead of being merely good-enough, is a pair of bags that are a joy to behold. Even Willem admitted that they look pretty cool, and he’s well enough knitting-trained to have been able to hold an informed conversation with me about which one he liked better.

2008-08-29-Celtic-totes52008-08-29-Celtic-totes3

How about you? Which is your favorite?

Responses

  1. ahhhh!!! the green one! i like the green one!

    i am so excited that i get to keep it, and i’m glad we didn’t end up rushing to finish it while i was out there. and a pocket too? that is awesome.

    Thank you very much!!

  2. ooooh, tough choice, but I agree, I like the green one better.

    wish I was Mary πŸ™‚

  3. Honestly they both are GREAT! The knot looks shadowed and really pops on the red one but I personally am drawn to green, I like cooler colors. Enjoy it Mary!

  4. Ooooh…I’m always drawn to reds and my favorite color is a deep burgundy (hint, hint, haha) but I really like the green one, too.

    And a little zippered pocket on the inside!? People just don’t understand how vitally important that is. Matter of fact, I won’t even buy a bag or purse without at least one.

    Your sisters are so lucky!

  5. I love them both, but ‘d likely choose the maroon-ish one. If I had a choice. Which I sadly don’t.

    Maybe I’ll try learning to knit again!

    On second thought, that would be another disaster.

    I shall just envy the recipients and the craftswoman.

  6. Those bags are awesome. I love them both. I haven’t forgotten that I still owe you a picture.

  7. I love the green one. And I’m totally impressed with your speediness. It takes me forever to knit, mostly because I never seem to have the time.

  8. They are both fabulous. Usually, I’m more of a green lover, but I really like the maroon one.

  9. I love the contrasting fabric inside of the reddish one. I’d want that one!

  10. Reddish one, please. They’re both beautiful, and usually I like green better, but I like that fabric inside…

  11. You’re a clever little monkey! Love the green, I wear a lot of that sage green colour! They are indeed funky . . .I have something similar in brown alpaca that Clare sent from Bolivia, it’s my pride and joy!

  12. Those are amazing! I love the green.

  13. They are both gorgeous. As usual, you’ve done an outstanding job with the knitting and I will slink away with envy. πŸ™‚

  14. I loves the green one!! After seeing yours, I’m really liking the look of the pattern. I wasn’t too keen on it before, but now I realize that the reason was because the original that’s pictured in the magazine is an icky brown. That green is fab.

  15. When I saw the title of this post, I thought that you’re going to write down a story about “the green bag” which can be use to replace the plastic bag (at the supermarket).

    green = the color to represent “anti-globalwarming” thing… πŸ™‚

    but your knitting are gorgeous! I never can knit. but I bought a sewing machine recently.

  16. Oooh, those are gorgeous. I like the way the knots pop on the red one. The green is pretty, too, just more subtle.

    Gosh, I wish I could knit better. I started teaching myself a few months ago and haven’t even attempted a purl stitch yet.

  17. OOOOOOOO!!!!! and EEEEEEKKKK!

    dibs on the red-purple guy!!!

    thank you, my favorite older sister!!!

  18. […] month project, intermittently. Lots of other things, like a blanket for Gretchen and Dan, bags for each of my sisters, and a chemo cap for Carolyn’s sister, all crowded in and delayed this […]

  19. […] – bookmarked by 2 members originally found by wesleychapel on 2008-12-12 Little Green Bag https://katesaid.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/little-green-bag/ – bookmarked by 5 members originally […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

