Posted by: Kate | August 10, 2008

Getting on my Nerve

When I woke up yesterday morning, I said, “Hmm.”

(It’s a patented sound from my family of origin; we refer to it as the B—— Hmm.  It’s a widely applicable utterance, useful in situations ranging from mild interest to moderate disappointment to board-game angst; not typically used for expressions of extreme emotion or sensation.)

There was a small, but distinct, sore spot, midway between my right shoulder and my neck, very high on my back.  It wasn’t excruciating, but it was sharp and would increase with certain motions.  I had felt fine at bedtime on Friday, so I assumed that I had slept with my neck at an odd angle and had pinched a nerve.  Mildly annoying, but mostly ignorable.

We had a lot planned for yesterday – the gathering of Gretchen, the plundering of the farmer’s market, the blissing of the beach – so I popped some ibuprofen and headed out the door.

By 10:00 in the morning, I said, “Hey, ow.”

The pain had gotten sharper and was now radiating down to the middle of my back, down to my elbow, and across to my spine, and it hurt to swallow or breathe deep.  I could drive, but anything in reverse was cause for whimpering and gasping bearing up womanfully under the discomfort.

The beach helped, of course.  I’m of the opinion that the beach could cure just about anything, given a long enough exposure.

When we left the beach, I said, “Holy crap, that hurts.”

It continued to hurt through the evening, though once we got home I was able to dig up an old prescription of Flexeril – a muscle relaxant – and take half of one.  I don’t tolerate them especially well, if tolerance includes maintaining consciousness, but desperate times, etc.  Like a bouncer hurling a recalcitrant bar patron onto the sidewalk in a drunken heap, thus did the Flexril fling me into unconsciousness.

It’s still unpleasant this morning.  I’m mostly just irritated with it; if I had been saving a child from the burning wreckage of a car accident or even just been participating in a rousing game of frisbee, then I would at least know what to blame it on.  But this, as far as I know, I just slept.  Not exactly an activity I can avoid in the future.

I’m planning to take it easy today, at least as easy as a grocery-run and small children allow.  One of the motions I can’t comfortably do is to look down; not the easiest restriction in a house full of toddlers.

Clearly, it has not impacted my ability to whine.

Responses

  1. Aw Sweetie I hope it goes away with the speed it came. Stupid back nerves! You whine so rarely, we don’t mind when you do. Love and gentle hugs.

  2. I had the same thing a few weeks ago. But I was stupid enough to chaperone a church youth group sleepover and sleep on the floor. I too old for that and had to resort to vicodin that was left over from a previous surgery.


Leave a Reply

Categories

