Posted by: Kate | July 25, 2008

Bathroom Betrayals

I’m holding a grudge against my bathroom right now.  Clearly, the fault is there; this kind of nonsense doesn’t happen in other rooms of the house.

Just this morning, I had three instances of, “What?  Seriously?”

First, as a result of not having been on the pill for eight months, my skin has declared a mutiny.  I’m 31 years old and shopping for acne medications, how unfair is that?  And I’m not typically all that concerned with my appearance; I yam what I yam and it seems to be good enough for those around me so I let it be.  I don’t own makeup, aside from a few lip balms and the stuff we use for the kids’ Halloween costumes.  I technically do own a hair dryer, but have not used it for the purpose God intended since living there.  Just not my scene.  So being this appalled by my complexion means it’s really, really bad.  Ugh.  Bad.

Then, I realized, right, it’s been about two weeks since my last period, let’s start with the ovulation predictor kits again.  Negative.  Which I knew, because I took one every single day for the last two months and never once got a smug little happy face in the little digital window.  But still, somehow it’s worse to have proof of what I already knew.  OK, fine, deep breath, empty the mind, envision a calm blue ocean, breathe out… whatever.  I have a doctor’s appointment next week to start the official process of, “Hey, let’s try something different, because Ye Olde Tab A-Slot B Procedure doesn’t seem to be getting the job done.”

And then, because I’m just a bastion of masochism this morning, I dug out the scale.  It had been several months since I’d weighed myself, and I knew that I’d been very, shall we say, permissive with myself this summer when it comes to eating, you know, anything at all.  So I figured I’d have put a pound or two back on. 

Yeah, or twelve. 

Again, not a huge issue on its own; I’m still wearing the same clothes and not bursting out of them, and no one else has stopped and given me a head-tilting look of sympathy whilst nudging the cookies a bit farther away.  I’ll just drink more water, and get back in the habit of not eating unless I’m actually hungry. 

Any one of these little frustrations would have barely rated a blip on my radar, but hitting myself with all three at once has not made for a happy morning.

Responses

  1. Ooof. Bad day. Hugs.

  2. Well, shit. Hating all that. Nothing like being hit from all sides by the fucking axis of evil.

  3. Awwww honey. Hang in there. I make a soap with molasses, tea tree oil & oatmeal that smells pretty awful, but it will clear up your face. If you’ll send me your address backchannel I’ll mail you a bar.

  4. A triple whammy…not good!

    Scales are evil and should not be used, ever, at all, unless forced by medical personel. I’m sorry the ovulation bit isn’t going so well. I solemnly swear that I will never tell you to just relax. I hope you get some insight at your appointment next week. I’ll keep fingers and toes crossed!

  5. Sounds like you’re having a lovely Friday morning. I feel your pain re: skin. For most of my 20s, I had lovely skin – the kind that other people would randomly compliment me on. When I hit 28, it all went downhill. My skin is worse now than when I was a teenager, pill or no pill. It sucks. I hope you can find something that works for you.

    You’ll have to let me know what the doctor says. I’m curious to know what the next step is when you’re not successful in conceiving on your own. We aren’t quite there yet, but we might be in a couple of months.

  6. they come in threes…so you are due a good one! i hope it comes soon! 🙂

  7. Hugs I hope your day got better!

  8. oi.. that is the perfect recipe for a crappy morning. Hope it didnt follow you in the rest of your day 🙂

  9. You mean Jessica Simpson was lying when she said that Proactive was the panacea for all pimples! Poor thing. My skin is great since I’ve been desexed but I guess that won’t work for you! Tea and sympathy.

  10. That sucks – I had the same problem after going off the Pill. I used the Vichy line (you can get it at most drugstores) it comes in the green bottles for breakout prone skin and it seems to have cleared up the problem for the most part.

    I still get a little breakout right around when my preiod is due, but nothing horrific.

    I hope it gets better for you!

  11. Ugh. Ugh! You need a foot rub. Oh Willem… *snap snap* 😉

  12. I had the acne problem when I turned 30. It was horrible and made me feel not so sexy. I used Burt’s Bees herbal blemish stick and was knocked out of my chair by how good it worked. If I had a really big pimple, I would apply a couple times a day. Worked like a charm.


Leave a Reply

Categories

