Posted by: Kate | June 23, 2008

Godspeed, George.

George Carlin died last night.

He wasn’t a huge formative presence in my life, and I certainly didn’t find him offensive or upsetting.  But he was damn funny and smart and said a lot of things that I wish I’d have thought of first.

I was just reading his Associated Press obituary, and it reminded me of something I’d read once:  that a lot of media outlets write people’s obituaries years in advance, just to have them on file such that they only need a little bit of polishing up before being published.  Makes me wonder what would be on file for my life thus far, were I not living in relative obscurity in the darkest remote corners of New Hampshire.

And that, in turn, makes me really want to live another five years or so, because I have a lot left to do.

Responses

  1. Yep. This one is a heartbreaker. RIP, buddy.

  2. He’ll definitely be missed in my house…

  3. 5 years?

  4. Well, I’ll take more if I can get it, but 5 would get me out of this current holding pattern and into the next phase (B&B, writing, etc).


Leave a Reply

Categories

