Posted by: Kate | June 19, 2008

I Need Nap Lessons

I’m a horrible napper.  I sleep like the dead, and wake up similarly, only crankier.  I’m a bit groggy and disoriented for the rest of the night, and I have to be careful not to bite the heads off any small children that get near me.

I look at people who can sleep for an hour and wake up refreshed and cheerful, and it’s a mystery.  How do they do it?  I’ve tried shorter naps, longer naps, naps on the couch, naps in the bedroom, naps early in the day, naps after lunch… I just can’t do it.

Isn’t it supposed to be good for you?  Studies show that people who nap live longer, make more money, have shinier hair?  Something?

Because it might be good for me, but it’s decidedly unhealthy for those around me.  They prefer me tired and mellow than post-nap and crabby.

Responses

  1. I am a professional napper. Ok, I am a professional sleeper. I can just about doze off anywhere anytime. At least since getting pregnant with #3.
    BUT sleep too long and forget about being productive!

  2. I am the same way! If I nap, I am grumpy. And normally I can’t nap, if its day time my body just does not shut down to sleep (unless I am properly migraine medicated that is, then I don’t have a problem with falling asleep, the only problem then, is I sleep like the dead for about 5 hours, don’t think thats considered a nap!)

  3. Is being able to nap productively a genetic thing? With the exception of my brother, I am from a family of nappers. We all nap. Not Shane though. He’s like you. If he falls asleep, he’s completely out of it the rest of the day.

  4. I do 20 and 30 minute naps – no problem. And, I can, at the start of a nap, tell myself, “Okay, I’m just going to catch a few Zzz’s for 20 minutes.” and I will wake up around exactly 20 minutes later. But, if I let it go on for longer than about half an hour, I end up groggy and cranky and no good for anything!

  5. I get grumpy after a nap too. Even if I was endlessly cheerful beforehand. Think my youngest son might be taking after me in this respect..

  6. Gosh, I love napping and wish I could still do it every day. I remember that, in college, I’d get to the library every night around 7pm and put my head on the desk and sleep for 1/2 hour before studying.

  7. I don’t know where you nap, but have you ever heard of a wake-up light? It simulates dawn so your brain will start producing the hormones it needs to wake up in a more natural way and it will leave you feeling well rested and more productive. This lamp/alarm clock only works when you can take a nap in a dark-ish room though.

  8. I LOVE to nap, I just never get to now that H doesn’t take them. It figures he would stop taking naps just when I was ready to follow the age old advise of sleeping when the baby sleeps!

    I also tend to wake up kind uf grumpy and groggy, but I find that if I go sit outside for a few minutes after waking up the light and fresh air snap me out of it. Drinking aglass of cold water also helps me wake up. Worth a try?

  9. Oooooh, I love a good 20-minute or so power nap around 2 in the afternoon. It gives me just enough to recharge but not enough to leave me bitchy for the rest of the day. I don’t need additional assistance in that area, haha. I use self-hypnosis recordings from Glenn Harrold, a superstar in the hypnosis world. I don’t know how I would have gotten through licensing exam study without him. You can get his stuff from Audible, or iTunes.

  10. Sometimes sleep attacks me in the middle of the day. Sometimes I attack sleep. We never seem to be able to come to a mutually satisfactory arrangement.

  11. Not a napper . . .ClareBear takes ‘power naps’ and after an hour or so is ready to go . . just can’t do it capt’n. Then I’m grumpy anyway

  12. Not a napper myself….though I found a handy “How To” guide from the Boston Globe if I ever wanted to start:

    http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/ideas/naps/

  13. I’m basically the same way. The thing is, once I sleep its like I can’t wake up unless I’m forced to. It’s pretty bad, so as much as I love to nap it’s horrible for everyone else. Good luck. If you find a solution lemme know? 🙂

  14. […] later in the day as reward for getting up on time now (and conveniently forgetting that naps are not my best thing), I just feel wooden.  Heavy.  […]

  15. […] Are you a mediocre nap-taker? […]

  16. […] of falling asleep, love being there, love knowing I get to do it all over again the next night. It has been established that I don’t nap well, or rather that I don’t recover well after a nap, but still, me […]

  17. I don’t take naps at all. I can’t get my body to go to sleep during the day. If a manage to get some sleep I wake up with a head ache. I feel like crap the rest of the day. This is also the case if I get to much sleep.

  18. […] of course, there’s the naps.  I’m not normally a napper, and when I do give in, my family treats me with all of the subservience and gentility of […]

  19. […] of course, there’s the naps.  I’m not normally a napper, and when I do give in, my family treats me with all of the subservience and gentility of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

