Posted by: Kate | May 30, 2008

What Would You Like for my Birthday?

Yes, indeed, almost every year, right around this time, I have a birthday. I’ve already had a few unbelievable gifts this year – a trip to Jamaica, another trip to New York City – and I live a charmed enough life that there’s not a lot of toys and gadgets that I need or want. As sacrilegious as it might sound, I don’t even want yarn right now; I’m planning a trip to Rhinebeck in October and have plenty to keep me busy until then.

I woke up to several well-wishes in my inbox from good friends, which is always exciting because I’m at an age – 31 – where I expect my husband and mother to remember my birthday, and anyone else is just, well, icing on the cake, for lack of a more relevant metaphor.

My mother won’t call until 7:30 p.m. on the dot to sing to me, because she celebrates a birth time rather than a birth day, but she made a cake and gave me a lovely hand-carved Irish candy dish last weekend when I was visiting, so I don’t get to moan and groan about getting short-changed out of a whole day this year.

Life is good.

I’ve also got cause for celebration, assuming one celebrates such things, because this is my 1000th blog post, and I’m hovering somewhere near the 100,000-page-views mark. (I’m certain on the number of posts, less so on the hits because I started at Tripod, moved to Blogger, and then landed here. It’s a rough estimate, but accurate to within a couple thousand. Think of me as the American Idol of site stats, as long as it’s within a few thousand we’ll count it.)

So, that said, I’ve decided to give out a gift or two for my birthday. To you, because it’s my party and I get to hand out favors. Leave a comment, and for a few lucky winners, I’ll knit something smallish of your choosing. (I’ll Willem, as resident random-number-generator guy, will pick one name for each ten distinct commenters – one comment per email address, I’m not that much like AI. Any comments collected before Sunday, June 1, 2008 at 11:59p.m. will be included in the list.) A scarf, or a hat, or a pair of mittens or socks, even a baby blanket or baby sweater. I won’t make you a whole sweater, because I’m not that nice. But you place an order, with color and texture and material, and I’ll do my best to come through.

Because you all make me happy, and I’m a sucker for a few extra comments on my birthday.


OK, we have winners… I’m closing comments just because I feel bad enough not being able to paste a little gold star on everyone’s forehead. Microsoft Excel chose Magi, Tara, Wordnerd and Madison – I’ll email each of them, and will post photos of their prizes once they (the prizes) exist. Congratulations!

Responses

  1. I am wishing you a very happy, healhy birthday with a year just as wonderful to follow. Thanks for all you do – you are a wonderful person and deserve nothing less than the BEST!
    BIG BIRTHDAY HUG!

  2. Happy, happy birthday!

    I tried to think of something witty, but I came up with nothing. Maybe I’ll think of something later…or not.

  3. Happy birthday, love! :kisses:

  4. I hope you have a wonderful birthday! (I spread mine out for about a week.)

  5. Happy Birthday!

    Your trip to NY really was fabulous, and a trip to Jamaica… I hope you have as much fun there.

    31 is a good age. I turn 32 in a few months, and I have to say that I like my 30’s even better than I liked my 20’s, and those were a definite improvement over my teens. So I hope this new year treats you extremely well, brings you love and success, and people who appreciate the amazing things you do for those in emotional need.

    Oh, and I hear you on the ‘don’t even want yarn’ bit! See you at Rhinebeck… I’ll be the other person with the extra-large sack of goodies. : )

  6. Happy Birthday my friend. May your year be happy and full of good events.

  7. Many Happy returns on your day! I was thinking about you this morning.. Hope your day continues to treat you well 🙂 But, dont want yarn? I didnt even know those words could go in the same sentence..

  8. happy birthday kate! and i’m not just saying that because there is a chance for a free hand made gift. but let’s be honest, i’m a sucker for free hand made gifts especially when it is to honor someone else’s birthday and it’s free! oh did i mention that already?

    have a great one!! 🙂

  9. Happy Birthday Kate!

  10. Happy birthday (for the 3rd time!) and congratulations on hitting 1000 posts!

  11. Ok, so I am NOT posting so that you’ll knit me something (I’ve already been a lucky recipient several times over)….but I AM posting to wish my dear, dear, dear friend the wonderful day she so richly deserves. 🙂

    Love ya, Kate! xoxoxoxo

  12. Happy Birthday! I really enjoy reading your blog, congrats on your 1000th post.

  13. Happy Birthday Kate!! Hope it is friggin’ rockin’!

  14. Happy Happy Birthday Kate! I hope yours is wonderful in every way! We should party together some day, mine was the 28th!
    1000 posts?!!! That’s amazing. You deserve a trophy for that achievement!
    Happy Kate Day! 🙂

  15. Happy Birthday. Congrats on 31 years and on 1000 posts.

    I somehow stumbled upon your blog a few weeks ago and look forward to your posts daily. I’m sorry to have missed the first 975 or so. I really enjoy reading your writings.

  16. Have a great day Kate! 31? You’re a spring chicken! (and I hope I win!)

  17. Happy happy birthday to you! We’re on vacation so I haven’t been online much, but I checked in today and now I’m glad I did (to clarify, not for the chance of a freebee, rather the chance to wish you well on the anniversary of your birth). Enjoy your day!

  18. My calendar told me today was your special day. Happy, happy birthday to you!

  19. Wishing you the happiest of birthdays! You rock, sista!

  20. I’m commenting only to wonder if my commenting is cheating…i can knit my own damn stuff, and if I win, I’d fully expect either you or Willem to remind me of it 😉

    Nonetheless, happy birthday, my dear Kate!

  21. Happy Birthday Kate!!! May babies are THE BEST!

  22. Happy birthday, sweety! If you pick my name, please knit a Hat for Alex and send it to Trillian42. You are so kind and compassionate!

  23. Happy Birthday! I’m so glad I found your blog – you are a very talented writer. And very young, too! 🙂

  24. I just wanted to say happy birthday Kate because it would be really unfair if you knitted me another thing and cheated one of these good people out of something special.
    so…. happy birthday, Kate!!

  25. A very happy birthday! Don’t forget to comment on my giveaway post. You might win some free popcorn. ;o)

  26. Hey! Happy birthday! Glad you’re having a good one. 🙂

  27. Our birthdays are close together. Mine was Wednesday. How nice of you to offer knitted goods. Very generous gift!

    Have a fabulous birthday!

  28. Happy Birthday, Kate!

    I hope you don’t feel old. And if you do, remember I’ll always be 12 years and two months older.

  29. Happy birthday, Kate! Here’s a toast to living as long as you want to – and wanting to as long as you live!

    *smooches*

  30. Awww I’m late again. Bloody time zones. Happy b’day and congrats on the many zeros in your posts! I’d like to win some sox please, it’s getting cold down here and there’s a hole in my Bolivian Alpaca pair!

  31. Hi! I’m a very regular reader, but don’t generally comment. Just wanted to wish you a VERY happy birthday……….31 is a great year (and 32 is just as good!). Best wishes for a super-duper year!

  32. Happy Birthday and keep on rockin’ it!
    PS. hope you got some birthday lovin.

  33. Happy B-day; belated of course, Miss Kate. I’ll see you on Friday. : )

  34. Hope you had a great Birthday. You have such great ideas, I promise if I win I will “pay it forward”

  35. Do you suppose it would get here in time for mine?? That would take some seriously fast knitting!! Glad you had a great day!!

    Love you!

  36. OK, I feel guilty b/c I really should’ve wished you a Happy Birthday on the actual date! So happy belated birthday! Hope it was a good day for you!

  37. Happy Birthday Kate!! Woott!!

  38. […] 3, 2008 by Kate Remember, I had a giveaway? Well, there were winners, and two have already received their goodies. Wordnerd scored herself a […]


Categories

