Posted by: Kate | April 25, 2008

Precipitating Factors

When I am trying to have a patient admitted to a psychiatric hospital, one of the questions I have to answer is, “Are there any known precipitating factors leading up to the current crisis?”

My answer, today, was, “Yes. This patient has had ongoing depression, with gradually tapering effects of Zoloft. She recently visited long-distance family and has been missing them, and she was also struggling because she believed she had Seasonal Affective Disorder but then did not start feeling better when the weather improved. Then, yesterday, her six-year-old told her that she wanted to throw her mommy in the garbage and get a new one who isn’t sad all the time.”

Responses

  1. Whoa!!! How sad for both of them. Isn’t it scary when a person so young can see the severe distress, especially in their parent. I hope things get better for them and I am glad they had you to advocate for them. Big hugs.

  2. Um, wow. Talk about precipitating factors. Depression is so hard on everybody, I feel bad for her and her kid.

  3. Truth from the mouths of babes . . .Depression is a family illness isn’t it? Everyone suffers. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again . . I don’t know how you do what you do and remain so cheerful. Take solace in the fact that you are instrumental in helping these people or at least those who can be helped. My heart goes out to you Kate.

  4. How horribly guilty and sad that Mama must have felt to hear that, and how frustrated and sad the little girl sounds. I hope you were able to help them. x

  5. How very sad.


Leave a Reply

Categories

