Posted by: Kate | April 8, 2008

Tidbits

I don’t know if I’ll come up with the full seven, as ordered, but I have a few tidbits floating around in my head, stubbornly refusing to cohere into reasonable posts on their own. (There’s probably a good reason for this.)


I don’t have much of a thing for shoes or leather purses, but I am a total sucker for a good bag. The specific form of the bag may change based on circumstances, but the basic definition is key: a receptacle for some given conglomeration of stuff. Usually with lots of pockets.

Several years ago, I bought a backpack at LL Bean and there was much rejoicing. It was the right size, lots of pockets, choirs of angels rejoicing, all that stuff. Then I finished grad school and Willem started grad school, and somehow my backpack got all filled with math textbooks and calculators and boy germs. This didn’t cause a problem, or really even much notice, for a while, but then when my carry-on bag decided to leap away from its strap shortly after learning that the rest of our luggage hadn’t arrived in Jamaica, a little piece of my soul cried out for the comfort of a sturdy, predictable backpack.

2008-04-08-backpack

It arrived today, and a lovely new addition to the household it is. This sucker has so many pockets and handles that its handles and pockets have pockets and handles. Happily, we’re going away this weekend, so I can start the process of justifying the purchase almost immediately.


There’s a drug called AciPhex, currently being advertised on oft-repeated commercials which I’m not always quick enough on the remote-control-draw to avoid. It seems odd to me that any company would market something without practicing the word out loud first, and yet I have a hard time imagining that they would have knowingly sent something to mass audiences if they’d realized it sounds like “Ass Effects.”


I finished a knitting project today, one that has been quietly nagging at my consciousness for quite a while:

2008-0-08-farmers-market-bag-FO12008-04-08-farmers-market-bag-FO2

I’m grandly referring to it as my Farmer’s Market Bag, but I’ll use it for the regular old grocery store, too. And now I only need to make about a dozen more to have a reliable shopping supply. The good news is, this one took forever to get going but finished itself up with lightning speed, so there is hope for me to be able to have a decent array of pretty shopping bags before the landfills all explode, or whatever.


My cell phone isn’t working. I can’t receive incoming calls. I really hate contacting customer service, because when I do, my predictions about the next fifteen minutes or so of my life always end up correct. I’ll sit on hold, then I’ll get frustrated, and ultimately it will be some weird problem I never could have anticipated.


We’re going to my mother’s for the weekend. It’ll have its own blog posts… especially if Willem follows through on his threat to call his mother and invite her to dinner on Saturday.


That seems about random enough for now. I’ll leave you with this parting thought: we’re hosting a brunch on Saturday, and one of the attendees is a vegan. What does one prepare for breakfast that involves neither dairy nor egg?

Responses

  1. I love, LOVE, the bag. Is that a cotton yarn? Not just pretty, but functional too!

    Vegan breakfasts: fruit, hash browns/potatoes, oatmeal (not prepped with milk, obviously)… Hell, just do a fruit salad and let that be it. LOL. I was a vegetarian and never expected a host to go to too much trouble just for my food limitations.

  2. Yep, just a simple dishcloth cotton, so I can throw it in the wash or whatever. But it’s cheerful and makes me happy, for about a $4 investment.

  3. I love the randomness.

    I love the bag.

    I even love the backpack.

    Any chance you didn’t tell Willem about your phone not accepting incoming calls? I’m having evil thoughts about Willem “misplacing” his phone and telling his mother she’ll have to call your phone to make final dinner arrangements…

  4. No, no such luck… I actually wouldn’t know about my phone’s problems without Willem’s input. Though now I really want to send my MIL an email like, “CALL ME, NOW,” and let her freak out at the “We’re sorry, your call cannot be completed…” message. I’d never actually do it, but one can dream.

  5. Very very cute bag! Another one of those Patty wishes she could knit projects. LOL

    Have a great weekend at your moms.

  6. I had a vegan breakfast once. It consisted of potato pancakes with soy sour cream and cheese, and fruit.

    I didn’t realize you had changed the look of the blog (I usually read through bloglines). Looks great!

  7. Beverly, I just changed it about 20 minutes ago. I miss Paris today.

    Thanks!

  8. I have all kinds of vegan recipes (of course!!) – email me with what else you’re serving and I’ll send you something great!! (and easy!!) You can add it to your future B&B recipe file! 🙂

  9. I love the bag! Great idea.

    Vegan breakfasts… I make muffins or quickbreads; if they eat soy, you can use Earth Balance instead of butter, and there are all sorts of replacements for cow’s milk (almond milk, oat milk, soy milk…). You can often skip the egg in that kind of recipe, just increase the baking soda/powder by maybe half a teaspoon.

    Oatmeal, especially the nice steel cut oats that you soak overnight and then simmer for an hour or so in the morning. (1 cup oats to 3 cups liquid; add chopped fruit and cinnamon or other spices if you want. I use half water/half unfiltered apple juice for the liquid.)

    Fruit, smoothies, english muffins, whole wheat toast with nut butter or fruit preserves… that’s all I can think of right now. 🙂

  10. What a great bag! Well, both of them. LLBean is a household standard here, too, but I do really love the one you made for groceries.

    Vegan breakfast is tough, but I think a substantial fruit salad and potato/onion/pepper home fries would be good.

    Hope you have a giood visit.

  11. Ingredients
    # 1/4 cup margarine (soy or regular)
    # 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
    # 1/2 teaspoon salt
    # 1 cup sugar
    # 2 cups flour
    # 1 tablespoon baking powder
    # 1 teaspoon vanilla
    # 1/2 cup soymilk
    # 2 cups fresh blueberries
    Directions

    1.
    1
    Preheat oven to 350°F.
    2.
    2
    Line muffin cups with paper liners or spray with nonstick spray.
    3.
    3
    Mix all ingredients together until moistened.
    4.
    4
    Divide batter evenly among the muffin cups. Each should be filled 3/4 full.
    5.
    5
    Bake 35 minutes or until the tops are firm.
    6.
    6
    Cool on a wire rack.

  12. Happy bag! I love colorful accessories like that. It’s doing the environment a favor while looking pretty, great work.

  13. Pretty bag. Makes me want to learn to crochet, because really, knitting? for a shopping bag? Too slow.

    Nice’n’random.


Leave a Reply

Categories

