Posted by: Kate | April 5, 2008

Flu’s Paradise

Yeah, so, all that fun I’ve been having, prostrate on the bathroom floor, calling up Ralph on the Big White Telephone, facing away from the television because the flashing light was making my head scream and my stomach implode? That’s the flu, too. No fever, no cough, no significant sinus involvement. Fabulous. And this is despite getting a flu shot this year.

Ah, well. At least I have a diagnosis, it’s not gallstones or some of the other things I was worried about, and the jury is still out on whether I’m actually allergic to Cipro or not. (Backstory: my ED trip last month ended up being due to a toxic-for-me level of antibiotics, Bactrim, and the early symptoms here precisely mimicked that experience, only with more, shall we say, authority. I’d been on a short dose of Cipro for a suspected UTI… good times around here, let me tell you.)

I haven’t knit a stitch in two days, because I just can’t seem to get motivated. I’ve slept 16 hours a day. I actually didn’t take any time off work, since the worst of this hit on Wednesday afternoon, I had Thursday off, and no one – not for lack of begging – would take my Friday shift. So I’ve been whining and moping trouping heroically through the bare minimum, and am infinitely grateful to the dishes and laundry fairies who have kept the house running.

So I have a diagnosis and am determined that this time, no really, will be the last round of ick for a while. Enough, already. I have to assume that you’re tired of reading about it, because I’m tired of writing about it. I sincerely hope that my next physical gripe has to do with morning sickness.

On that front, things aren’t looking likely for this month. It’s not technically impossible yet, because a urine test is only something like 80-90% accurate before a missed period, and I’m not late. But aside from nausea, now otherwise-explained, I’ve had no symptoms. So we’ll keep trying, and I won’t get anxious about it for a few more months. Honest.

The rest of my day is chock-full of holding down the couch and winning a battle over a bowl of chicken soup. Tomorrow will be mostly quiet, up until evening, when we have tickets to see Def Leppard, Styx and REO Speedwagon. What should I wear?

Responses

  1. You poor thing.

    You should so clearly wear leggings, a tank top (not the wee-strappy kind, but a real tank top) and a ripped-out neck sweatshirt.

    Have fun!

  2. Ugh . .real flu is shitful. Last year we had a particularly super strain of the virus and even vaccinations didn’t stop 70% of the workforce dropping to their knees. I think flights exacerbate it too . .all those close quarters and sneezy queens. R & R my darls that’s what’s needed and a good vitamin supplement. Can I borrow your dishes and laundry fairies!

  3. Sorry to hear about the yuckies at your house – at least it didn’t hit hard until after all your really cool vacation stuff. Get well soon!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

