Posted by: Kate | April 4, 2008

Meme, too.

I’m going to jump on the bandwagon of the Movies Meme, which I’ve seen in a coupla places lately.

As with anything in life, there are rules:

1. Pick 10 of your favorite movies.
2. Go to IMDb and find a quote from each movie.
3. Post them on your blog for everyone to guess.
4. Strike it out when someone guesses correctly, and put who guessed it and the movie.

And one rule for those of you filling it out:
5. Looking them up is cheating, please don’t.

Without further ado, then…

1. You’re a god damn genius! This is the most outstanding answer I have ever heard. You must have a goddamn I.Q. of 160.

2. Does it have a fountain in front, a pool inside, and a bunch of fruits in monkey suits playing violins in the lobby? […] You bet your ass it’s Ritzy! It’s the Marlboro Blenheim.

3. Apparently, he’s got a record longer than my… well, it’s long.

4. Let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

5. An unhappy alternative lies before you. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.

6. You know, this could be a sign of things to come. You win all your cases, but with somebody else’s help, right? You win case after case, and then afterwards you have to go up to somebody and you have to say, “Thank you.” Oh my God, what a fucking nightmare!

7. What if I told you insane was working fifty hours a week in some office for fifty years at the end of which they tell you to piss off; ending up in some retirement village hoping to die before suffering the indignity of trying to make it to the toilet on time? Wouldn’t you consider that to be insane?

8. It happens every time. They all become blueberries.

9. It’s important to have a job that makes a difference, boys. That’s why I manually masturbate caged animals for artificial insemination.

10. It rubs the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again.

No tags from here, since I wasn’t tagged in the first place… but if you decide to play, let me know. I just love movie quotes, even though I almost never watch movies anymore. (One might notice a trend in the release dates of the above.)

Responses

  1. 8 is charlie and the chocolate factory, 10 is silence of the lambs.

  2. Well, the only one I know is #8, which is from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.
    I was watching the Jonny Depp version when I was in labor with Ryan, which is totally appropriate if you know Ryan.

  3. 5. Pride and Prejudice

  4. Totally not cheating:
    # 8 – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
    #9 – Clerks!
    #10 – Silence of the Lambs

  5. #4 Princess Bride. #8 everybody else already got.

  6. What does it mean that I got Pride and Prejudice, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Silence of the Lambs (which I have never seen)?

    And I missed The Princess Bride, even though it’s regularly referenced in our house. Oh well, yawn . . . it’s too early for this.

  7. Let me just go for the ones no one else has gotten yet.

    Is #1 Full Metal Jacket?

    #3 is Ocean’s Eleven

    #6 My Cousin Vinny

    I don’t know #2 or #7.

  8. Oh and I’m going to play, but it will come up while I’m on vacation. Got to fill the time somehow! πŸ™‚

  9. i knew 3,4,5,6,and 8! neat idea!

  10. Is #7 Office Space?

  11. This is almost too easy. But it’s fun!

    I knew all but 7 and 10, and so not to ruin it for others that want to play I will use the initials of the person who uttered the quote.
    1. GS
    2. BM
    3. MD
    4. MP
    5. DS
    6. MT
    7. ?
    8. GW
    9. ?
    10. AH (The star, because a bit character said the line and I don’t know his name).

  12. Way too cryptic, BTW. I’m reasonably certain you’re not right about #1, but I can’t tell who you meant so I can’t be sure.

    Go ahead and ruin it for the rest of us, we don’t mind.

  13. As you wish.

    1. Forrest Gump (didn’t Gary Sinise say that line?)
    2. Bettle Midler in Beaches
    3. Matt Damon in Ocean’s Eleven
    4. Mandy Patinkin in The Princess Bride
    5. Donald Sutherland in Pride and Prejudice (A&E version, and t hank you so much for recommending it!)
    6. Marisa Tomei in My Cousin Vinny
    7. Still don’t know.
    8. Gene Wilder in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
    9. Still don’t know.
    10. Some Bit Actor Playing a Guard in Silence of the Lambs.

    And may I add that since I’ve only been to the movie theater three times in the last 4 years, thank you for making all of them older films. πŸ™‚

  14. #5 is Pride and prejudice….any version of it. It is one of my favorite lines.

    I know #7 – but for the life of me can’t remember.

  15. 7 is from Con Air. I love Steve Buscemi.
    And I think the rest were guessed, except 10 was actually said by Jayme Gumb, Buffalo Bill.

  16. Oh – I just had to look up #7 and now I know and remember. That was a great line.

  17. After I thought Full Metal Jacket for #1, I did a google and realized I was right that it was a screaming drill sergeant in boot camp — just the wrong screaming drill sergeant in the wrong boot camp. πŸ™‚

    It wasn’t Gary Sinise, it was whoever was Forrest Gump’s basic training drill sergeant.


Leave a Reply

Categories

