Posted by: Kate | April 3, 2008

Knit Happens

I’m feeling decidedly under the weather today, and that’s as much detail as anyone needs (you’re welcome), so I thought I’d post my recent finished knitting projects. As far as topics go, it’s a bit like chicken soup for the brain: bland enough not to require much stretching and movement, but comforting.

I say “projects” like it’s a big, varied bunch; it’s not. Just two pairs of socks, knit on planes and a bit on the beach during my recent travels. Socks are good, portable little critters, and none of the airlines had even a moment’s pause at the small pointy metal circular needles I brought with me. Clearly the TSA has never seen a knitter immediately after discovering that the whole damn foot is about 12 stitches too big per round, because if they had they’d upgrade their assessment of knitting dangerousness.

Because that’s what happened – on both pairs. I don’t know why I didn’t stop and wear the first one for an hour or so before casting on for the second, particularly the second time around. Sometimes I’m just not all that quick on the uptake. So both pairs were knit and completed more than a week ago, and all four socks were then frogged back to the heel flap and reknit. At least by then I had the patterns memorized.

So, first, there’s the Pomatomus socks from Knitty… sort of.

2008-04-03-pomatomus-FO22008-04-03-pomatomus-FO1

They’re knit with Blue Mountain Bearfoot yarn, which I initially loved and now think it’s a bit on the fuzzy side for my taste. The first pass through, I followed the instructions carefully except to downsize the stitches when my gauge was quite a bit larger and I only had one needle choice available to me. That meant keeping the scale-like pattern down the top of the foot, and I finished both and wove in ends… and hated them. Too loose, and I just didn’t like the look. So I ripped back and redid the foot in a ktbl-p1 rib, and am much happier with the end result.

And next I have the “Go With the Flow” Socks from Interweave’s Favorite Socks book. Again, knitted both and then decided they were too big, but they came back together quickly and now I love them. And they have good, knit-on-the-beach vibes woven right in. These is actually a before-downsizing picture but I’m too lazy to retake them.

2008-03-28-GWTF-socks2008-03-23-jamaica-GWTF-sock-WIP

In the Well That Sucks category, I’ve accepted defeat on the Paris Opera House sweater and will eventually turn it into a pillow. After I find the right pillow (I’m thinking IKEA, they have down pillows that should work) and decide where in the house it will live… so it’s shelved for a while.

In happier news, I cast on for a new sweater, and am so far loving the yarn (DiVe Zenith), loving the pattern (Interlocking Cables by Shirley Paden), and only a little concerned about whether I’ll actually wear the end result. It’ll be a long-term commitment, since it’s 280 stitches around and heavily cabled, but that will make for a good waiting-for-the-phone project at work. Not much to show right now…

2008-04-03-interlocking-cables-WIP

But eventually it should look more like this.

Responses

  1. I hope you feel better & happy knitting.

  2. I likey that last knitting project. Lovely off the shoulder look πŸ™‚

  3. Great job on the socks. I would have had to rip and reknit too in that situation. Why spend all that time knitting something that doesn’t fit?

  4. Ooooo that sweater is purrty (too much time in the south, just had to share, just for you!)
    I don’t know what to say about the socks situation, cause we all know that Patty is not that crafty! πŸ˜‰
    Hope you feel better tomorrow.

  5. whory crap that looks complicated lol good luck with it πŸ™‚ still trying to finish am’s corset tee, much simpler pattern but its on size 5’s…


Leave a Reply

Categories

