Posted by: Willem | March 22, 2008

Does the Easter Bunny get paid sick leave?

I feel like hell.

I had a bit of a hard time sleeping last night and I felt a little off during the day today, but I didn’t think anything of it. I just figured it was the extended hangover from traveling and eating too much weird food at too many weird times (like McDonalds at midnight on the way home from the airport). Both kids took extended naps which seemed to back up this hypothesis. At 4pm, we left the igloo and made our way to the local theater to see Horton Hears a Who. If you haven’t seen it yet, it’s not bad, but it’s not that good either. Both kids liked it and it was appropriate for all ages, so I’ll give it a solid B. Just don’t expect to watch an exact video adaptation of the book – a few liberties were taken, to say the least.

Anyway, as we’re leaving, I’m still feeling bad, but I still don’t think anything of it. After much bickering, we decided on Applebee’s for dinner (the kids wanted Friendly’s, which we have been to about 1,427 times in the past 8 years – I outrank them). It finally dawns on me when we sit down and read the menus and nothing looks good to me that I might be coming down with something. I’m not exactly the type of person who denies himself the pleasures of ultra-greasy food on a regular basis, but this was weird. Nothing was bland enough to pique my interest. So I had a cup of coffee and watched the kids eat (sort of) their dinners.

Since then, I’m feeling worse and worse. My temp was 99, then 100, and most recently 101. I’ve taken the requisite doses of medication and chicken soup, but I’m still feeling horrible. Since tomorrow is Easter, I have to put together the kids’ baskets tonight. This normally isn’t too much of an ordeal, but right now anything other than sitting and groaning feels too complicated. I hope the Easter Bunny will come through for me in the clutch.

God I sound like a baby.

I haven’t heard from Kate yet, but I figure she’s either having a blast or currently passing through the gastrointestinal tract of some large, ornery, aquatic animal. She’s planning to go cliff diving, and I’m not too enthusiastic about it. But what are you gonna do?

I just don’t know how single parents do this. Two more days, and I get my wife back, and I don’t have to hear, “I want my mommy!” every time I have a disagreement with the kids. Two more days.

I miss her a lot.

Responses

  1. Oh, that sucks! If Brendan didn’t come home each and every day I would entirely lose my mind…being sick on top of that is just punishment. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. Being a sick single parent has got to be the epitome of crappy.

    I hope you feel better tomorrow.

  3. You have definitely earned your baseball man-trip!! Hope the Easter Bunny came through for you and you’re on the mend soon!!

  4. My husband was out of town on business for NINE days once – leaving me with a 8 yr old (in school) and an under a year old and I had the creeping crud from Hades. Worst nine days of my life. I hope you feel better soon!

  5. Haha . . . welcome to my side of the fence! Hope you’re feeling better!

  6. Your writing is fine. I was laughing. And damnit sometimes you just have to pull rank on the kids. Too funny that you didn’t even eat at the place you chose. Hope your feeling better.

  7. Nope, being sick with kids really stinks. Hang in there! I sure wish my spouse had half the — well, I was going to say “balls,” but that doesn’t seem appropriate. Anyhow, hang on.

  8. Heh. Last February Husband left for a four day gaming convention. A half hour after he walked out the door, the oldest started vomiting. It sucked.

    Hang in there, it gets better! (This form someone whose had three sick kids and herself to deal with alone).

  9. Bleh – hope you’re all back on your feet soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

