Posted by: Kate | March 13, 2008

Travel-Induced ADHD

We’re leaving for Florida with the kids tomorrow morning.

I spent the morning driving around aimlessly, trying to talk to my mother and playing phone tag with Gretchen as we searched for a place willing to provide walk-in pedicures.  This was a last-minute situation here, and living in rural New Hampshire does not bode well for one in need of an emergency pedicure.

We prevailed, and my toenails are red.  Gretchen, God love her, was feeling ill, and found precisely the right amount of energy: she was able to get out, get a pedicure, and have lunch, and then went home sick from work.  Smart, smart woman.

While at the mall, I noticed the store where we had originally purchased Jacob’s Kitty.  Kitty has been quite well-loved, to the point of no longer accurately qualifying as orange and missing stuffing in key areas, but she still makes him happy.  Or did, until she disappeared a little over a week ago.  I spent my spare time yesterday, in between a wildly upsetting and unsuccessful attempt to complete our taxes (hey, guess what, inheritance laws make for weird taxes!  who’d’ve thunk it?), tearing the house apart looking for that critter.   That attempt was also unsuccessful.

So when I noticed the right store, I decided to stop by and see if they happened to have any Kittylike critters available.  I’d checked once before, back when he had first mutely declared Kitty to be The One, and they’d been out of stock.  But lo and behold, there was a whole bin full of Kittys and their ilk today, so I decided to get a new one.  Jacob’s old enough to know that it wouldn’t be the same, but at least the new one might remind him of his old friend.

And you already know what happened, don’t you?  When I showed up at school to pick him up?  Yeah, there was Kitty, waiting in his cubby.  “Oh,” said his teacher, “His Kitty has been in my cubby for a week or more, I just forgot about it.  Sorry!”  Funny.

So now we have Kitty and Leo.  He wants to bring them both to Florida.  I counted at least 12 other Kittys in the bin at the mall, so I’m willing to take that risk.

I think we’re pretty well packed and ready to go.  I have to decide which knitting projects to bring, but otherwise we have tickets and ID, clothes and toiletries, toys for the kids, a big duffle for the carseats, cameras with freshly charged batteries.  I have an almost completely new summer wardrobe, and am starting to learn that while I do well at Old Navy, I absolutely must try everything on before leaving the store.

I am completely healthy.  This is a big deal.  The past two weeks were unreasonable.

Last but not least, I’m certain that I’m not pregnant this month.  It’s a low-grade disappointment only because we did our homework quite diligently last month, but this way I can go on roller coasters, drink rum, and jump off cliffs with minimal guilt.

We’re heading out tomorrow morning, and I plan to spend the rest of the evening flitting from one activity to the next in a flurry of inattention.  Our hotel has wireless and my children do sleep, so I hope to check in from the road.  And next week, if I’m not able to log on from Jamaica, then I have a Very Special Guest lined up for your entertainment.  Stay tuned…

Responses

  1. Have a safe trip!

  2. Have a wonderful and safe journey. Drink just enough, get just enough sun, and a teensy bit too little sleep.

  3. Ah, enjoy your last baby-free vacation for a long time! And yes, those last drinks too, before gestation sets in 🙂

  4. Have a great trip.

  5. Have a wonderful trip!!

  6. Travel Safe.

  7. Have a wonderful time! I’ll miss you.

  8. Isn’t that always the way with loveys? Misplaced ones show up where you least expect it. I hope you all have a great and safe trip. I’ll be popping by for updates!

  9. Yay!! Have a fabulous time Kate!

  10. Have a blast! And drinks extra rum for me!

  11. I hope you and the stuffed menagerie have a blast . . .not sure about the jumping off cliffs bit but go the rum punch!

  12. Have a blast, enjoy the warm weather, show off those pretty red toe nails and cheers with the rum!

  13. Have a great trip! Do you have your audio books? ; )


Leave a Reply

Categories

