Posted by: Kate | February 28, 2008

Drudgery

So, for the inquiring minds who want to know, the powers of procreation won out over the ravages of age and fatigue.  And let’s be clear, it’s not only his energy that’s flagging; the old gray mare ain’t what she used to be, either.   Seven times in one day was a college stunt, and is not likely to be repeated in my lifetime.

I can’t even imagine.

There were moments of hilarity in the pre- and post-game shows last night, because, well, why not?  There was the moment when he broke the silence to announce, “Wow, someone’s been doing their Kegels.”  Thanks, I’ve been working out.  And then, when all was done and done, he said, “This kid better come out knowing how to push a wheelchair.”

Because the thing is, I have a philosophy about conception, to the extent that someone whose five prior conceptions were unplanned can have a philosophy: I think every child deserves to be conceived in, shall we say, bliss.  That way, whether the child is conceived in a youth hostel in Luxembourg (I’ve always wondered if Emily should get some sort of dual citizenship for that), or a hotel in Rochester, NY (“Daddy, what’s that noise?”  “I’m just kicking my foot.”  “Oh – [snore].”), or just in the plain old bedroom of our house now, I can say with certainty that they were made with love and joy.

Though I won’t be ready to talk to them about that particular joy for a few years.

Anyway, so, there’s a certain amount of energy and effort being expended, beyond the simple Tab-A-Slot-B construction methods.   All in the name of good karma, mind you.  It’s not because we want to, but because we feel morally obligated.

(And in case you’re wondering, no, neither of my parents read this blog.  But my sisters do, and I’ve spoken of similar stuff with my mother.  My dad, not so much, but that’s a personal preference rather than a total inability to broach such topics.  And more to the point, if I broach such topics with my dad, then he’s likely to respond with his own anecdotes, and I just prefer the ignorance-is-bliss model there.)

Responses

  1. Well I hope it worked for you. I think Joy and Bliss are essential in conception and creation of a happy baby.
    Good luck.

  2. When I read your previous post yesterday (on bloglines) I thought to myself – Oh, I bet she can get him up to the challenge.

    Now I wish I had popped over and commented it.

  3. Ahh the joys of sex with a longtime partner. Some of the best sex The Man & I have had over the last decade-plus has centered around those deliciously intimate private jokes. Like the time I had a particularly strong orgasm, after which, I went all fundamentalist Christian, on him, shouting, “Ah kin SEE!” *

    *(translation from Southern: I can see!)

    PS
    I still don’t need glasses.

  4. Hahaha! Probably faaaaar to much information but have fun trying! Good to see the wedding tackle is in fine fettle!

  5. Is it funny that I was hoping that this one would be a mickey mouse baby?

  6. I think I agree with Patty…
    what’s better than conception at the, Magical Kingdom/The Happiest Place on Earth!
    Wasn’t there a commercial about the ‘tell all boy’ on the elevator saying the baby was mommy’s souvenir from the Disney Cruise? HMMMMMMMM, could Jacob be saying the same thing in about a year?

  7. That’s pretty funny.
    I laughed at the wheelchair part.


Leave a Reply

Categories

