Posted by: Kate | February 13, 2008

A Yearlong Scarf

My friend Lisa had sent me some yarn a year ago, sort of a “I bought this and don’t know what to do with it” type thing. Around the same time, I’d stumbled across a (free!) scarf pattern I liked, so I cast on and plugged away. But I was still a new enough knitter that it was slow, thought-intensive going, and then other projects caught my eye, and it got set in a back corner of the craft closet, forlorn and lonely.

Then I was in IKEA and saw a goofy little gadget that I thought she might enjoy, and remembered that her birthday is in February, and decided to dig out the scarf and see if I couldn’t finish it in time. It was a close call, indeed – I finished it Sunday and decided to overnight it on Monday to arrive in time – but finished it is! Happy birthday!

I have no idea what kind of yarn it is – 100% wool, hand-dyed, I’m pretty sure, but if it came with a ball band I lost it a long time ago. But it’s bright, springlike colors, and the wool has enough stitch definition to show off the scarf pattern even through the variegation, so it was the right yarn for the job, whatever it was.

2008-02-11-variegated-candleflame-scarf-FO12008-02-11-variegated-candleflame-scarf-FO22008-02-11-variegated-candleflame-scarf-FO3

Candleflame Scarf

Responses

  1. psst – you made me your first one, remember??

  2. I do remember, indeed. But yours happened ever so much faster…

    https://katesaid.wordpress.com/2007/03/11/bags-n-socks/

  3. That is very beautiful. I love the colors!

  4. Wow, beautiful work. I love the shape and the colors. Just incredible.

  5. It’s around my neck now, it coordinates loverly with my green sweater. :warmfuzzies: Thanks again!!!

  6. Oh and the yarn was from http://www.littleturtleknits.com

  7. Pretty!

    Also, I wanted you to know that your blog MakesMyDay!

  8. Beautiful! This one has been on my must knit list for a long time, I think it just moved up a bit. What a great pattern for variegated yarn! Not busy at all, just gorgeous.

  9. This is one beautiful piece of art. Fair play to you on getting it finished on time! It looks well intricate.

  10. That it a gorgeous scarf!!! I am still waiting on learning how to knit though Ive known how to crochet since I was a child

  11. What a great job! It’s a beautiful piece of work. Thanks for sharing.

  12. ooooooh.

    I like it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

