Posted by: Kate | February 3, 2008

A Meme to Make Me STOP PLAYING THAT GAME.

Which game? This one.

I have no idea why I can’t stop playing it, but if my Floridian friend hadn’t memed me, I might very well have developed a permanent hand cramp. Seriously, I don’t know what’s up with the addictive computer games just lately, but they’re threatening to take over what’s left of my brain.

Anyway, it’s a book meme, which I’ve seen around but never been tagged for: Find the nearest book, turn to page 123, start at the fifth sentence and type out the next three sentences.

Simple, right? Sure, except for the book part. The very nearest ones to me are still on the couch after the kids’ bedtime stories: The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein and the latest issue of Highlights magazine. Neither goes up to page 123.

OK, then, I’ll go with the next-closest book. Except that’s my knitting notebook; a graph-paper composition notebook in which I write out patterns, notes, charts, and so on. There’s only 100 pages in the notebook, and I’ve filled perhaps 15 of them so far. No good there.

All right, third time’s a charm. On my coffee table there is, oddly enough, a coffee table book; one that I don’t typically leave within reach of the kids because the artwork photography non-verbal stuff leans toward possible nightmare material, though it’s certainly not the most graphic or intense book I own (remember, I read and watch a lot in the True Crime genre). But tonight I was flipping through it while waiting for my virus scan to finish, so it’s still on the table: Weird New England, by Joseph Citro. The stories themselves aren’t especially disturbing, for the most part – I’d let Emily read many of them, and we’ve watched the Weird US television show together – but it contains odd, half-photography, half-Photoshop, frankly creepy illustrations at the start of each chapter.

But it’s within reach and has the requisite number of pages (though this is from page 124 because 123 doesn’t have five sentences on it), so without further ado:

The text was supported by a series of photographs of seventeenth-, eighteenth-, and early-nineteenth-century Stotham structures – homes and farmsteads – some of the designed and build by the town’s architect, Ruben Duren. In addition, a detailed town history profiled a selection of Stotham’s early settlers and leading citizens, among them Salmon White, Obadiah Witherspoon, Nahum Bodkins, and of course Obijah Podbury of the venerable Podbury family, “who may well be termed the founders of Stotham.” Mr. Ripley’s article presented an idea picture of the quintessential New England village, where “the bligthing hand of the real estate promoter, and the withering touch of the speculative builder, are conspicuously lacking.”

To totally spoil it for all of you, Stotham never existed and the whole article was a hoax. That wacky Mr. Ripley.

And now I tag more poor, unsuspecting people. The problem is, I don’t actually know that many people, so I keep tagging the same ones, and someday soon they’re going to appear on my door brandishing pitchforks in a menacing manner. Let’s see… how about some newer additions to the blogroll, so that you can go see why I added them to the list whilst obsessively following the path of this meme to the end of the Internet: SJM, Heather, Gretchen, Patty and Markira.

Responses

  1. We have Weird Florida. Not surprising if you know my husband.

    And you’ll keep getting tagged when I do. Unless I start bothering people on your blogroll…

  2. Thank you for tagging me. This was a fun meme. It’s done over at my blog.

    I am afraid to even start Chain Factor. No good could come of this. mk


Leave a Reply

Categories

