Posted by: Kate | January 30, 2008

We Now Return to our Regularly Scheduled Programming

Yeah, had a bit of a tantrum last night. Just not feeling well, and then not feeling better. I’m functioning fine during the days, but by evening I’m tired and hurting and worn down. Nothing that a small and tasteful beheading couldn’t handle.

So, in happier news, let’s get back to this Jamaica trip, because while the idea of napping on the beach for four days is really appealing, I should probably also take in some of the local stuff. Bear in mind that the four of us range in age from 16 to 48, and that Mary isn’t exactly a cliff-jumping, parasailing kinda gal, that if I’m pregnant by then I’ll be sidelined from a few key activities myself (though, fetus or no, I will have at least one high-proof beverage, because when in Rome…). We’re spending three nights in Montego Bay and the last night in Kingston, and will be renting a car.

I’m throwing myself on your mercy, here, Interwebs. What shall we do? What should we be sure to eat or drink, and not to eat or drink? And when you drive on the left-hand side of the road, I understand that the steering wheel is moved – but are the pedals switched, too?

I really would like to know these things before we arrive. I’m comfortable enough with looking like a tourist, but I don’t necessarily equate cluelessness with tourism. Enlighten me, O Wise Ones.

Responses

  1. Could not, would not drive a car like that. I’m so not that coordinated. Your a braver woman than me that’s for sure. I wish I could give you advice but heck I’ve never been farther than Vegas soooo I’m no good.

  2. Can’t help with the vacation plans, but just registering my jealousy in an official way. Have fun!

  3. Kingston is supposed to be a really dangerous city. Be careful.

  4. Thanks, Lisa. We’ll only be there about 10 hours or so, just to stay the night before we depart because the flight leaves at 6:00a.

  5. Pedals are still like ours, gas on the right, brake on the left. 🙂 and if you get a stick shift the shifter will be on your left. Other than that I got nothing. 😉

  6. Be very careful driving in Jamaica. Narrow, winding, pot-holed roads with very fast drivers, pedestrians and bicycles on the shoulders. I would not do it, but that’s me.

    As for what to eat – make sure you get some patties, jerk chicken off the roadside stands (guys cooking on 50 gallon drums), Red Stripe beer of course, and don’t miss the lobster!

    Have fun! Jamaica is one of my favorite places.

  7. The petals aren’t switched, but it’s a surprisingly big mental adjustment to drive on the left side of the road. Be well rested and put your most confident driver behind the wheel, and you should be ok. As long as no one screams every time a car comes at her on the wrong side.

  8. Oops, Pedals. :0


Leave a Reply

Categories

