Posted by: Kate | January 23, 2008

Welcome to Jamaica, Have a Nice Day

Anyone who knows the joke to which that is the punchline earns an appreciative nod and a margarita from me when and if we’re ever out together.

So, you know how I said we’re taking the kids to Florida in March? I’ve also been in negotiations with my mother to plan another mother-daughters trip, somewhere tropical this time, and after comparisons of schedules (mine, my sisters’ school schedules, my mom’s work stuff), we realized that the best time for us to go is actually immediately after that trip. And rather than stew on it and think too much and end up losing the chance, we ordered tickets tonight. So I’ll be flying from Orlando to Boston with my family on March 19th, landing in the evening, staying right there in a hotel for the night, and leaving at the crack o’ dawn on the 20th for a few days in Jamaica with my mom and sisters. Willem will be home with the kids. I honestly would love to take them along, too, but they’d miss too much school, and he volunteered to stay home.

Holy crap!

I’ve understood and appreciated that my life is brimming with luck and joy, and this was a lovely extra reminder of it. I’m hoping to be able to sleep at some point before then.

I promise not to come home with cornrows.

Responses

  1. no mon, that tattoo says . . .

  2. Wendy?

    What fun! I wish my mom were well enough to travel abroad. Instead we’re opting for a road trip to Kansas City in time to pick up fireworks from Missouri for our 4th bash. No boys allowed.

  3. I know that joke, you dirty girl, you.

  4. Going to see one of those tattoos for youself? A girls’ night out!

  5. I can only watch with envy. . .

  6. I have been, and it is way fun. Of course I went for Spring Break in college, and I’m thinking you might not be going for THAT kind of revelry. Though with the tales I’ve heard of your mom’s seeming party prowess, maybe you WILL go for that sort of revelry. 😀

    Where are you going? Montego Bay? Negril? If you can manage it and you have the guts, go to Rick’s Cafe in Negril for the cliff diving. Mucho fun… even if you don’t do it yourself, you can watch all the other crazy people do it.

  7. HA HA! I do know this joke – and I don’t have a girlfriend named Wendy.

    and yes – when you go to Jamaica, don’t be peeking at anything, okay?

  8. Now I’m just jealous!

  9. I see I have a readership well-versed in the ways of dubious body art. If you all appear here simultaneously, I’m going to have to consume a SERIOUS amount of margaritas.

    There are worse punishments, I suppose.

  10. Found your blog by accident and that is one of my all time favorite jokes! 🙂

    Hope you have a blast!

    Heather

  11. Ok I am beyond jealous! I hope you have a wonderful time with your mom and sisters. Are you going to document this one like you did your trip to France? hint hint.

  12. LOL! If I didn’t know that joke they’d kick me out of the club.

    What fun! Enjoy!

  13. A young man truly in love with his girlfriend decided to have her name tattooed on his penis.
    Her name was Wendy, and the tattoo was done while the penis was erect, so when it was not erect all you could see was W Y.
    Shortly after the couple was married they were honeymooning in Jamaica the man was in a bathroom in Jamaica, and standing next to him was a Jamaican man who also had a W Y on his penis.
    The American said to him “Oh is your girl named Wendy too?”
    The Jamaican replied, “No, Mr. that says Welcome to Jamaica Have a Nice Day”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

