Posted by: Kate | January 17, 2008

Bereft

My sister Sarah just spent almost a month with us, to help with the kids and the house on the days when I worked and Willem studied for his test.  She has to get back to New York for her own classes soon, and we all knew she couldn’t stay forever, but still.  It always seems to take me by surprise, when a visitor leaves, even if I’ve been aware of the plan all along.

And Sarah is just precious.  She’s got a heart as big as all outdoors, and she’s smart, and if anything she errs on the side of caring about things too much rather than having that What-Ever attitude that seems so popular.  We just had a good time together, time to talk and enjoy each other and get to know each other a little better, and I hate the fact that she’s about to graduate college because that means she’s going to grow up and get a life of her own and she won’t be able to come and spend a month here whenever she wants to.

So the house is a little too quiet, and my heart hurts a little.  Jacob and I had lunch with her before she got on the road, and on the drive home he announced, “I miss my Rah-Rah.”  Me too, kiddo.

Responses

  1. Hugs, I hope Sarah has a safe trip back to school, and that you get to spend more time together soon!

  2. When my youngest two sisters were in college, they spent all breaks, including summer, at my house. We had some wonderful times together. We talk several times a week, sometimes several times a day, but it’s not the same. We miss spending time together.

    Enjoy these moments while you can. I hope your sister ends up closer to you than mine.

  3. Sisters just rock. I am fortunate to have mine nearby — but I don’t remember when I had a life and she was less far along. . .

    Hugs to everyone.

  4. I hope my sister and I have such a bond (I was adopted at birth, so I haven’t met her yet, although we talk on the phone. We just found each other in July 07). It must be so great to have close family to help out and provide joy and support when needed. I’m sure you two will always remain special sisters.

  5. Sarah’s fabulous…and a hell of a chocolate chip scone maker. She’ll be missed on this end, too…

  6. I am insanely jealous of the sister bond, not having one of my own. When I got married, I was so excited to gain seven new sisters, but have learned over the years that “in-law” will never get to that same level of closeness. My loss.

    Glad you all had a great visit, and I hope she’s arrived back at school safely.

  7. i miss you guys so much!! my heart ached to leave too! …..BUT we will soon be together in Jamaica!! EEK!


Leave a Reply

Categories

