Posted by: Kate | January 14, 2008

Pulling the Goalie

My husband’s a hockey fan.  You wouldn’t know it just lately, because he seems like an all-school-all-the-time kind of guy just lately, but in theory that will ease up a bit after he passes his comprehensive exams over the next few weeks.

See that, right there?  That little word, passes?  That’s a tidbit of optimism to help me breathe a little slower and ease up the heart rate a little, because I’m really hoping he passes on the first try.  If he doesn’t, it means retaking the test in August, and nobody wants to go through this all again.  So, optimism.

Because the hockey thing?  He really likes it.  He thinks in sports analogies, when not playing with numbers or reading maps.  And thus, yesterday having been my last day officially on The Pill and today being the first day off The Pill qualifies us as having Pulled the Goalie.

We’re not trying yet, mind you.  I’d really like at least a month chemical-free before conceiving, because I’m thinking that might save me at least one or two panic attacks down the line.  I’ve already panicked a bit over the delicacy of timing and my job and health insurance and money and the logistics of moving and grad school and, and, and… OK, so maybe I should consider it a month estrogen-free instead of chemical-free, because I may need to spend a bit of quality time with my friend Ativan while my head gets through all of this.

We did what we could (which wasn’t, admittedly, very much, given the studying and the houseguests and the holidays) to sneak in a few practice sessions before, um, extra padding will be required, but still.  I didn’t take a pill tonight.

And I wonder why it’s 2:06 a.m. and I’m wide awake.

I am so freaking excited.

And scared.

But mostly excited.

Responses

  1. Love the analogy! In my experience no one is ever fully prepared for the addition of a new child, whether it be your first or tenth. Whenever it happens it will be nerve wracking and wonderful and scary, but you’ll figure it out.

    Have fun at hockey practice tonight.

  2. I’d be awake, too. It’s exciting and terrifying all at the same time. Good luck!

  3. Sending my best to you. YEAH!!! another little baby running around.

  4. WOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

  5. Oh, it is so exciting. No wonder you’re awake!

    Goalie, snort.

    I wonder what sports analogy he’d come up with for our situation.

  6. Oh my. Oh my. Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh my.

    Heck, even I’m excited!

  7. yay!

  8. So…. does this mean that the the “organ player” will be ramping up the millions in attendance with some tune and a red light will be flashing along with an announcer screaming Goooooooaaalll! Goal gooooaalllll!! when the time comes? : ) “dun dunnuh duh duh duuuuuh…..charge!!” Meaning nothing more than all the best.

  9. So if you’ve pulled the goalie but you’d like about a month before, um, scoring a goal, does that mean the game is on an extended time out?

    Cause I don’t think the players on either team would like being benched that long. 😀

    Go team! mk

  10. Remarkable. 😉

  11. WooooHoooo!!! I am pulling for you guys, and excited too, because I will live the baby cuteness through you guys, and my brother and SIL (shhhhh thats still a secret from the main part of the family). 😉

  12. Good luck! 🙂

  13. Ooh . . . that’s good news and I like the euphemism. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Categories

