Posted by: Kate | January 1, 2008

Now What? (Knitting Version)

After the hats, the ridiculous number of hats, I finished off Jacob’s sweater, Emily’s sweater, and a… thing for my dad. I haven’t been able to come up with a good name for it; it’s both a cowl and a hat, but cat and howl are both words in their own right, so I’ve been calling it a Moog, after the murderer in a show we were watching as I cast off. My writing strength does not lie in titles and names.

Anyway, proof:

Emily’s Hoodie
Made with Lion Brand Homespun, basic pattern from Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns with a hood added from… well, from somewhere in my head, apparently. There’s cabling up the raglan lines and around the front edge of the hood, but it’s hard to see in this yarn. Which, the yarn? Blech. It has its uses, and Emily fell in love with the color, but I hated working with it – too splitty and bunchy and plasticky. I won’t do that to myself again soon.

Jacob’s Thunderstorm Sweater, now upon the boy
Made with Lang JaWoll sock wool in one of the October 2007 colorways, held double. Pattern directly from Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns, and how much do I love that book? All the math done, everything laid out step-by-step… flutter, quake.

Dad’s Moog
Made with Bernat Naturals wool/cashmere blend, very soft and pleasant, held double. No pattern; I just cast on a 72-stitch tube, added a simple single-twist cable on each side, and knit until it seemed long enough. The top and bottom 2″ are in 2×2 ribbing, with the top a bit longer and the edge seamed in around a drawstring with toggle, so as to convert between hat and cowl. My dad’s a gadgety guy, so as far as knitted projects are concerned, this seemed right for him. And, really, any project named after a convicted murderer has its own special charm.

And now to 2008. I’ve got several projects brewing, in varying stages of planning/purchase/waiting/working. The closest to complete are my Alpaca Flip-Top Mittens… I seriously don’t know why the whole world isn’t made of alpaca. This is incredible yarn. I’m done with both inner gloves and one mitten, with about 50% to go on the second mitten. They’ll take a day or two, once I focus.

Alpaca Flip-Top Mittens
Made with special Lisa-provided alpaca yarn for the mittens, and an alpaca-silk blend for the white inner gloves. Designed by me, for me. I’ll write out the pattern once they’re completed, because I’ve already got it scribbled out in my notebook so the second mitten vaguely resembles the first. They’re made with extra-long cuffs because my winter coat tends to ride up at the sleeves, and flip-tops so that I can have warm hands and yet operate my cell phone and iPod in the car. They’re unreasonably delightful.


The white liners, alone:

Also on the agenda is a purple cardigan, from Interweave’s Salt Peanuts pattern, cast on last night in celebration of the New Year. I bought Cascade 220 yarn because it was available at a good price, and it turns out that the bag that came home with me is much softer and more pleasant to work with than the store sample seemed. It’s in a dark purple heathered yarn; photos can wait until it’s farther along. Pomatomus socks in Mountain Colors BearFoot sock yarn – expensive, sure, but Oh. My. God. I’m tempted to just wrap it around my feet, duct-tape it on, and call it done, but then I’d have to go and buy all new shoes.

For others, I’m planning a baby cardigan, but I’ll hold off on details until it has arrived where it needs to arrive. Both kids have requested socks, so we’ve picked out bright, bright colors for those. Another pair of socks is hiding mysteriously in my purse, brought out when I’m on hold or waiting for a hospital to return my call at work, waiting patiently for a recipient.

That seems like just about enough, no?

Responses

  1. […] post by One More Thing and software by Elliott […]

  2. Enough? No. The Winter is long, the kids grow, stay ahead of this game they play.
    I wonder if an Alpaca feels as good to itself as it does to us? Lucky for them that they do, I suppose. Beautiful, useful work, done at blinding speed it seems, these are, Kate.

  3. :clap: Very good job!!!! So pretty all of them!

  4. We need woollies even in the land down under. Love the red hoodie! If I start now, I might be finished by June (winter). Then again . . prolly not! I dunno how you find the time!

  5. The mittens plus liners are wonderful! Lined mittens for outside, fingerless gloves for under-heated buildings. Perfect. And I love the Moog. Your holiday knitting is very versatile.

  6. Love the mittens.. can’t wait to see the pattern 😀 did you do them in combination?


Leave a Reply

Categories

