Posted by: Kate | January 2, 2007

iPods are the Instrument of the Devil

I hate my iPod. I think I will eventually like it just fine, but right this second it drives me insane. It’s been so much WORK getting my music imported and figuring out the basics just to get the thing to play, and now I’m trying to figure out how to make it fit in the car-stereo-player thing, and it turns out that I can only use it in the car without its protective carrying case thing but it’s difficult to remove from its protective carrying case thing, which, admittedly, is probably a good feature for a protective carrying case thing to have, but still. Just annoying. I may get a different protective carrying case. But then that would mean investing more time and thought, and money, into something I’m still not sure I want to use anyway.

But my mother-in-law got me one for Christmas, and it is a very nice little toy, and in the spirit of rising above and graciously accepting a generous gift, I’m trying very hard to make it work, in hopes that an operational toy yields imminent happiness.

Though throughout my struggles and mutterings and frustration, I have wondered, how much of my effort has been because I am overcompensating out of simple, pathetic gratitude that the woman has finally seen fit to treat me, at least this once, like a step above the neighborhood crack dealer?

One unintended (by me) side effect of playing with this thing has been the frank ogling and gawking by my husband. Aside from my transcription work, I never, ever wear headphones. It’s been drummed into me by audiologist after audiologist, headphones are BAD and they make you go even DEAFER and you need to avoid them at ALL COSTS. I actually had one woman tell me once that the only way I could safely use headphones is if I worse noise filters or earplugs at the same time. Does that not strike anyone as a wee tad inefficient?

Anyway, but, in the spirit of Rising Above, I’ve been trying to listen to the iPod at home, and that means using headphones while doing dishes. That’s about the only time when I can count on my children magically evaporating. And Willem flips out, every time. “You look so WEIRD with headphones! My wife doesn’t wear headphones! It’s just bizarre!” Thanks, hon. Anytime I can bring a little freakshow into your life, I’m all for it.

So, we’ll see. Someday I imagine I’ll enjoy having all my music in one place… just think how long I waited to get a digital camera. And in the meantime, just let me hate the iPod a little longer. We all need something we’re good at.

Responses

  1. If you suddenly feel the need to regift… just sayin’.

  2. You’re so sweet, always looking out for me.

  3. My dad received a Zoom this year – (it’s the HP version of the I-Pod). It’s so new that it won’t recognize XP2000 – and only wants to work on the new Microsoft Vista. So – guess what my dad had to do before he could even TRY to download music to it? Yup – upgrade his computer tenfold.

  4. I received my (engraved 3rd generation) iPod a little over 5 years ago and now have a hard time living without it (read: I’m sooooo addicted…). Sometime later this week it goes off to receive a spiffly new longer-life battery. How I am to survive in the interim is beyond me. CDs have lost their lustre & my head might explode if I’m forced to listen to commercial radio. –Maybe I can commandeer my daughter’s iPod mini to get me through. She’s in school all day & can’t use it, right?

  5. Instruments of the devil, I tell you, Karmyn. All of them. They’re in cahoots.

    And Dr Sharna, I am ALL FOR coopting our children’s resources. They’re under 18, they don’t have property rights. So there.

  6. ooooh my fav thing to do with the ipod is to tune the little people out!!!

    i ❤ my ipod.

  7. What I don’t understand is why the protective cover (for mine at least) cost $30. Good grief, it’s a tiny little piece of material.

    I use my ipod mostly for listening to podcasts. If you’re an NPR fan, you might want to check out the “Wait wait don’t tell me” podcast (just ask me if you don’t know how to find it).

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Actually yours was recommended to me by a mutual reader. I can see why. I’ll have to check back more often.


Leave a Reply

Categories

